The Heidelberg Christmas Market 2026 runs from Monday 23 November to Tuesday 22 December 2026, 30 days in all, across six squares in the old town. The Bismarckplatz and the Winterwäldchen on the Kornmarkt stay open until 1 January 2027, according to Festivals in Deutschland. Entry is free.
Checked on against the official sources cited (Festivals in Deutschland, the castle’s official site, the City of Heidelberg, local press).
The Heidelberg Christmas Market isn’t held in the castle courtyard. It fills six squares in the old town, linked by the Hauptstraße, and the castle looms over all of it from the hill. This guide pulls together the confirmed dates, the castle and ice rink prices, a realistic budget for one day, and the points most guides miss: the castle ticket that changes on 1 January 2027, the castle’s shorter hours on 24 and 31 December, and the Bergbahn closure announced for 2027.
Six squares in the old town, from Bismarckplatz to Karlsplatz

The market follows the Hauptstraße
The market starts at the Bismarckplatz, where there are only a few stalls, then follows the Hauptstraße east to the Karlsplatz. The six squares are the Bismarckplatz, the Universitätsplatz, the Kornmarkt, the Karlsplatz, the Anatomiegarten and the Marktplatz. Heidelberg Marketing runs the event, working with the City and the police on the security concept. Guides quote more than 140 stalls, a figure that varies between sources, so we don’t present it as official. According to Festivals in Deutschland, the 2026 market is confirmed, and Heidelberg24 gives the same dates in its update of 20 October 2026.
Highlights
- Universitätsplatz: an old carousel and mulled wine flamed with a poker (Feuerzangenbowle)
- Kornmarkt: the Winterwäldchen, more than 100 illuminated fir trees, with a view of the castle
- Marktplatz: the big Christmas pyramid and Santa’s house
- Anatomiegarten: decorated huts opposite the Bunsen monument, with a more family-friendly feel
A guided tour of the old town and the castle is also offered for booking below. It isn’t part of the market: it’s a city tour that includes castle entry. We don’t know whether that entry replaces the Schlossticket (€11 until 31 December 2026), so ask before you book.
| Square | What’s there | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|
| Bismarckplatz | Start of the market, few stalls | Open until 1 January 2027 |
| Universitätsplatz | Old carousel, Feuerzangenbowle | Described as the market’s largest carousel |
| Kornmarkt | Winterwäldchen with more than 100 fir trees, nativity scene | Lower station of the Bergbahn, view of the castle |
| Karlsplatz | Ice rink | Located directly below the castle |
| Anatomiegarten | Decorated huts opposite the Bunsen monument | More family-friendly and quieter |
| Marktplatz | Large Christmas pyramid, Santa’s house | Photo with Santa, minimum donation €8 |
Source: Festivals in Deutschland and Heidelberg24, checked on 27 October 2026.
There is no entry charge for the market. To plan the day, two details are sourced: the ice rink sessions (1 hour 30 minutes in the 2025/26 season) and the castle courtyard, which closes at 6pm with the last entry at 5:30pm. To compare with another big market in the region, see our guide to the Stuttgart Christmas market.
The castle and the Bergbahn: tickets, hours and getting up the hill

One ticket for the climb and the courtyard
The Schlossticket covers the return funicular, the courtyard (Schlosshof), the Great Barrel and the pharmacy museum, according to the castle’s price page, checked on 27 October 2026. The ticket rises to €12 from 1 January 2027, at the same time as the €1 increase announced by the Bergbahn. In 2025 the castle welcomed around 1,055,000 visitors, according to the figures Heidelberg24 published on 26 February 2026.
Highlights
- The courtyard and the Great Barrel can be seen without a guided tour, within opening hours
- The interiors are only open on a one-hour guided tour, at an extra €6
- The reduced rate (€5.50) applies to children from 6, students up to 28 with proof of status, and disabled visitors
The lower station of the Bergbahn is at the Kornmarkt, which puts it on the market route. The 2025/26 winter timetable wasn’t published in the pages we checked. The most recent winter timetable we could read dates from 2022/23, with a first departure at 9am from the Kornmarkt and a last ascent at 5:10pm (Heidelberg24). Check them with the operator, HSB, before you count on the railway in the evening.
Hours change over the holidays. The official page, which isn’t dated, gives the following schedule, so check it before you go.
| Date | Courtyard, terrace and Fasskeller | Ticket office | Pharmacy museum (1 April to 5 January) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usual (every day) | 9am to 6pm, last entry 5:30pm | 9am to 5:15pm | 10am to 6pm, last entry 5:40pm |
| 24 December | 9am to 2pm, last entry 1:30pm | 9am to 1:15pm | 10am to 1:30pm |
| 25 December | Closed | Closed | Closed |
| 31 December | 9am to 2pm, last entry 1:30pm | 9am to 1:15pm | 10am to 1:30pm |
| 1 January | 11am to 6pm, last entry 5:30pm | 11am to 5:15pm | 12pm to 6pm |
Source: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, opening hours page, checked on 27 October 2026.
| Ticket | Full price | Reduced price | Valid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schlossticket (return funicular, courtyard, Great Barrel, museum) | €11.00 | €5.50 | Until 31 December 2026 |
| Schlossticket, same contents | €12.00 | €6.00 | From 1 January 2027 |
| Guided tour of the interiors (extra) | €6.00 | €3.00 (family €15) | Not specified |
| Audio guide (extra) | €6.00 | Not stated | Not specified |
| Annual pass (without funicular) | €40.00 | €20.00 | One year |
Source: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, price page, checked on 27 October 2026. We couldn’t find the price of a single funicular ride.
The Karlsplatz ice rink, right below the castle

An ice rink under the castle, back for 2026/27 according to reports
Festivals in Deutschland places the rink « direkt unter dem Schloss », directly under the castle, which makes it the only part of the market at the foot of the hill. In the 2025/26 season the rink opened every day from 10am to 10pm, in sessions of 1 hour 30 minutes, until 11 January 2026 (Heidelberg24, checked on 27 October 2026). For 2026/27, Heidelberg24 reports that the rink will return, with no firm dates: one source gives 6 January 2027 as the closing day, another 10 January 2027.
The price isn’t settled either. The same Festivals in Deutschland page gives two versions: about €5 for an adult and €3 for a child, with skate hire at about €5; or €5 to €8 depending on age, with hire extra. Budget for the top of the range and check the price at the entrance.
Highlights
- Rink located « directly under the castle », according to Festivals in Deutschland
- Sessions of 1 hour 30 minutes in 2025/26, enough time to skate without rushing
- Open until 10pm in 2025/26, while the castle courtyard closes at 6pm
What one day costs: the price of the market
The table lists the amounts we found, with the year each one comes from. The mulled wine and the mug deposit haven’t been published for 2026 in the sources we checked.
| Item | Amount | Year and status |
|---|---|---|
| Market entry | Free | 2026, confirmed (Festivals in Deutschland) |
| Mulled wine, 0.2 l | About €4 (expected average) | 2025 season, forecast (Stuttgarter Zeitung) |
| Mug deposit | €4 | 2025 season, not checked for 2026 (Heidelberg24) |
| Photo with Santa | Minimum donation €8 | 2026 (Heidelberg24, 20 October 2026) |
| Ice rink, adult | €5 to €8 depending on the source, hire extra | 2026, two versions conflict (Festivals in Deutschland) |
| Schlossticket (return funicular, courtyard, museum) | €11 (reduced €5.50) | Until 31 December 2026 (castle) |
| Guided tour of the interiors | €6 on top of the ticket | Undated rate (castle) |
| Tourist tax | €3.50 per person per night | Since 1 October 2025 (heidelberg.de) |
Source: Festivals in Deutschland, Heidelberg24, schloss-heidelberg.de and heidelberg.de, checked on 27 October 2026.
Add the 2026 Schlossticket (€11), the ice rink (€5 to €8, hire extra) and a mulled wine at about €4 (a forecast for the 2025 season, not published for 2026), and a day’s activities comes to roughly €20 per person. The top of the range is about €32 if you add skate hire (around €5) and the mug deposit (€4, a 2025 figure we couldn’t check for 2026). Those totals therefore rest partly on 2025 amounts. They don’t include meals or accommodation.
We couldn’t find food prices for Heidelberg 2026, so we don’t estimate them. Budget for a meal separately.
Getting to Heidelberg: train, tram and parking
The city recommends public transport, especially at weekends and in the evening. For most visitors, the train from Stuttgart is the best option: about 45 minutes from Stuttgart Hbf, according to Stars and Stripes in 2025. We haven’t been able to reconfirm that time for 2026. Driving times are in the table below.
| Journey | Approximate time | Mode |
|---|---|---|
| Stuttgart Hbf to Heidelberg | About 45 minutes | Train |
| Stuttgart to Heidelberg | About 1 hour 30 minutes | Car |
| Wiesbaden to Heidelberg | 1 hour | Car |
| Kaiserslautern to Heidelberg | About 1 hour 30 minutes | Train |
Source: Stars and Stripes Europe, 8 November 2025, 2025 figures to reconfirm; checked on 27 October 2026.
In 2025 the tram didn’t serve the Universitätsplatz stop during the market (Heidelberg24, update of 11 December 2025). We didn’t find the 2026 diversion plan in the pages we checked. The 2025 arrangement diverted lines 20, 29, 33, 36, M2 and M5 (City of Heidelberg press release, 18 November 2025). Check the plan from November 2026.
Parking can be tracked in real time on parken.heidelberg.de. Spaces for cars and coaches are limited, and the P12 car park on the Kornmarkt, close to the castle, is described as very narrow by motorists (Heidelberg24): avoid it with a wide vehicle. A €3.50 urban ticket for 90 minutes is listed by a transport comparison site, a third-party source still to reconfirm.
For your travel style: families, couples, tight budgets, first visits
Families
The Anatomiegarten, with its decorated huts, has a more family-friendly feel. The ice rink in the late afternoon rounds off the outing. For children, the castle’s reduced rate applies from age 6. The photo with Santa requires a minimum donation of €8.
Couples
According to the Earthtrekkers blog, the Universitätsplatz, with its old carousel and Feuerzangenbowle, is the largest and most attractive part of the market. Book the castle visit for the morning or early afternoon: the courtyard closes at 6pm, and the last entry is at 5:30pm. The Kornmarkt, with the Winterwäldchen and its view of the castle, is the place for an end-of-day drink.
Tight budgets
Entry to the market is free, and a mulled wine cost about €4 in 2025. Students up to 28 get the castle’s reduced rate with proof of status (details in the castle section). Mulled wine is served in a reusable mug: if you keep the mug, you pay the deposit; if you return it, you get the deposit back.
First visit
On a first trip, remember that the Schlossticket includes the return funicular (schloss-heidelberg.de), so the climb to the castle doesn’t need a separate railway ticket. To extend the trip, see our guide to the Rothenburg Christmas market.
Reduced mobility
We haven’t verified any accessibility information for the market or the Bergbahn. Check with the operator HSB and the City before you travel.
A possible plan for the day
This order of visits keeps back-and-forth journeys to a minimum. Check the hours the day before, as most are undated.
- Morning, from 9am: the castle. Enter as soon as the courtyard opens at 9am. Take the Bergbahn from the Kornmarkt lower station: the Deutschlandticket isn’t valid on the Bergbahn, but the Schlossticket includes the return trip. You can also walk up if the weather allows. The pharmacy museum, included in the Schlossticket, opens from 10am to 6pm until 5 January.
- Midday: back down into the old town. Have lunch near the Universitätsplatz, in the middle of the squares, rather than on the Bismarckplatz, where there are few stalls.
- Afternoon: Kornmarkt and Hauptstraße. The Winterwäldchen, with its more than 100 fir trees, is on the Kornmarkt, next to the lower station of the Bergbahn. Then walk back along the Hauptstraße, more artisanal in character, to the Marktplatz and its large Christmas pyramid.
- Late afternoon: the ice rink. Head to the Karlsplatz for a 1 hour 30 minute session if the rink is open that day (2025/26 session times; 2026/27 hours aren’t published). It sits at the eastern end of the market.
- Evening: the lit-up market, then home. Saturday and the evenings are the busiest times (Heidelberg24, 2026). Crowds bring pickpockets, and local press regularly runs warnings about it. Keep an eye on your belongings. Drink your mulled wine on the spot, remembering that it contains alcohol, then take the train or tram back. To compare with another big German market, see our guide to the Frankfurt Christmas market.
What other guides don’t tell you
These six points appear in the sources we checked on 27 October 2026, and they are missing or inconsistent in the guides we read.
- The castle ticket changes price on 1 January 2027. The Schlossticket rises from €11 to €12 (details in the castle section). Source: schloss-heidelberg.de, price page (checked on 27 October 2026).
- The castle closes earlier on 24 and 31 December. The courtyard opens from 9am to 2pm on both days, stays closed on 25 December and opens at 11am on 1 January. Source: schloss-heidelberg.de, opening hours page (checked on 27 October 2026).
- The pharmacy museum has different hours depending on the season. It opens from 10am to 6pm from 1 April to 5 January, then from 10am to 5:30pm from 6 January to 31 March. Source: schloss-heidelberg.de (checked on 27 October 2026).
- In 2025/26 the ice rink ran from 10am to 10pm, in sessions of 1 hour 30 minutes. The 2026/27 hours aren’t published, and guides give a wider range or nothing at all. Source: Heidelberg24 (checked on 27 October 2026).
- In 2025 the tram didn’t serve the Universitätsplatz stop during the market. Few guides mention this, even though arrivals need it. The 2026 plan wasn’t published in the pages we checked. Source: Heidelberg24 (11 December 2025, 2026 not confirmed).
- The Bergbahn raises its fares on 1 January 2027, then closes from 4 October 2027 to 7 April 2028. Bridge works mean a replacement bus runs between the Kornmarkt, the castle and the Molkenkur. It’s outside the 2026 market period, but worth planning for on later visits. Source: HSB, Bergbahn Heidelberg (checked on 27 October 2026).
Practical information
€3.50 per person per night since 1 October 2025, to add to your accommodation budget. Source: City of Heidelberg, checked on 27 October 2026.
Shops display a « Nette Toilette » sticker: you can use their toilets without buying anything, according to Stars and Stripes (2025).
Frequently asked questions
When is the Heidelberg Christmas Market in 2026?
It runs from Monday 23 November to Tuesday 22 December 2026, 30 days in all. The Bismarckplatz and the Winterwäldchen on the Kornmarkt stay open until 1 January 2027, according to Festivals in Deutschland. A third-party source gives 6pm for the opening on 23 November, a time the organiser hasn’t confirmed.
What are the market’s opening hours?
Festivals in Deutschland lists Sunday to Friday from 11am to 9pm, and Saturday until 10pm. Heidelberg24 only gives « 11 bis 21 Uhr » for weekdays. We haven’t read these 2026 hours on an official City of Heidelberg page: check heidelberg.de before you visit, especially for weekend evenings.
Is the Heidelberg Christmas Market free?
Yes, entry is free. Drinks, the ice rink and the photo with Santa do cost money, though. The minimum donation for the photo is €8 in 2026, according to Heidelberg24, updated 20 October 2026.
Does the market take place in the castle courtyard?
No. The market fills six squares in the old town. The castle courtyard is visited separately, from 9am to 6pm, with the Schlossticket. Only the ice rink on the Karlsplatz sits right below the castle. A courtyard edition existed in 2015, but no 2026 edition had been announced when we checked.
How much does mulled wine cost in Heidelberg?
The expected average was about €4 for 0.2 l in the 2025 season, according to Heidelberg Marketing as reported by the Stuttgarter Zeitung. The 2026 price hadn’t been published in the sources we checked, and specialities such as Feuerzangenbowle can cost more.
How much is the mug deposit?
In the 2025 season the mug deposit was €4, according to Heidelberg24. We haven’t verified this amount for 2026. The mug is specific to the market: keep it, or return it to get the deposit back. For comparison, the deposit was €3 in Mannheim and Stuttgart in 2025, according to the press.
Can you visit the castle during the market?
Yes. The courtyard is open every day from 9am to 6pm, with the last entry at 5:30pm. The Schlossticket costs €11 (€5.50 reduced) until 31 December 2026, return funicular included, according to schloss-heidelberg.de. The castle is closed on 25 December and shuts at 2pm on 24 and 31 December.
How do you get to Heidelberg for the market?
From Stuttgart Hbf the train takes about 45 minutes, according to Stars and Stripes (2025 journey time). The city recommends public transport, especially at weekends and in the evening. In 2025 the tram didn’t serve the Universitätsplatz stop during the market, according to Heidelberg24. The 2026 plan is still to be confirmed.
Is the market open on 24 December?
No 2026 source confirms any closure of the market on that day. The castle opens from 9am to 2pm on 24 December, according to schloss-heidelberg.de. In 2025 the ice rink was closed that day. Check closing times with the City before you visit.
Sources
- Festivals in Deutschland, « Heidelberger Weihnachtsmarkt 2026 » listing: dates, squares, confirmed status.
- Heidelberg24, « Heidelberger Weihnachtsmarkt 2026: Termine, Eröffnung, Tipps » (updated 20 October 2026): dates, Santa, squares.
- Heidelberg24, « Weihnachtsmärkte Heidelberg 2025: alle Infos » (11 December 2025): tram, deposit, access.
- Heidelberg24, « Eisbahn 2025: Öffnungszeiten, Preise, Dauer »: ice rink.
- Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, castle opening hours (undated page).
- Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, castle prices.
- HSB, Bergbahn Heidelberg: 2027 fare rise and 2027/28 closure.
- Heidelberg24, « Bergbahn Winterfahrplan »: 2022/23 winter hours, the most recent we could read.
- City of Heidelberg, tourist tax.
- City of Heidelberg, traffic press release of 18 November 2025.
- Heidelberg24, castle visitor figures (26 February 2026).
- Stuttgarter Zeitung, « Weihnachtsmärkte in BW: Glühwein wird mancherorts teurer » (2025 season).
- Stars and Stripes Europe, « Helpful hints for the Heidelberg Christmas market » (8 November 2025).
Sources checked on 27 October 2026. Unpublished 2026 amounts are flagged in the text.
Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you like to travel and helps you put together a trip that suits you, and the people travelling with you.
Open the planner