The 2026 Christmas lights switch-on in Madrid has not been announced yet, and the programme is due at the end of November. In 2025 the lights came on on 22 November from 7 pm. The Plaza Mayor Christmas market opens at the end of November and closes on 31 December 2026, with free entry.
Checked on against the official sources cited (esmadrid.com, navidadmadrid.com).
Christmas in Madrid 2026 is built around three dates already published: the Plaza Mayor market, the Feria de Recoletos and New Year’s Eve. The switch-on of the lights, by contrast, has no date yet. This article separates what the official sources have published from what is still projected, and gives the 2025-26 reference times to help you plan your stay. All information was checked on 18 October 2026.
1. Lights: the 2026 switch-on is not yet announced

A date expected at the end of November, no day set
As of 16 October 2026, the city council has not set an exact date for the official switch-on, and daily hours have not been published. esMadrid says the 2026-27 programme will be published at the end of November. Guides that announce a switch-on on 21 November 2026 are projecting last year’s dates: these are not announcements, and it is best not to lock in a train ticket or a hotel on those dates.
What happened in 2025: the switch-on took place on Saturday 22 November from 7 pm, with a ceremony at Plaza de Cibeles at 7.30 pm. Carlos Sainz switched the lights on, and a concert by Pablo López accompanied the evening. The two times mean different things: 7 pm is when the public could start seeing the lights, 7.30 pm is when the ceremony began. The 2025-26 lights were switched off on 6 January 2026, Epiphany (Three Kings’ Day in Spain).
For the 2026-27 edition, a new public market is being planned, with no confirmed amount. Press articles attribute the project to the city council, but no official press release was consulted to confirm it: no budget figure or number of locations is taken here as confirmed.
- Switch-on 2026: date not published as of 18 October 2026. Programme expected at the end of November.
- Hours 2026-27: not published. The hours in the table below are those of 2025-26.
- Route: no single official route, but a list of locations. Gran Vía, Alcalá, Cibeles and Sol form the thread described by the official listing and by eldiario.es.
- New for 2025-26: a nativity scene on Plaza de las Cortes, a large walk-through candle on the Paseo de la Castellana, three giant angels on Plaza Emperador Carlos V, and a Baby Jesus on the Ventas bridge.
The walk is best done on foot, starting on Gran Vía, where the snowflake-shaped arches catch the eye, then heading up Alcalá to Cibeles. The tree in Puerta del Sol closes the loop. If you only have one evening, keep this stretch: it brings together the displays cited by the official sources.
If your stay leaves you a free morning, a 2.5-hour food tour of a neighbourhood market, with churros, can fill that time. It is not linked to the illuminations: it appears here as an add-on for the day. On the Viator check of 18 October 2026, the departure on 22 December 2026 at 10.30 am was open (8 places left). Only that date was checked: the rest of December has not been verified, in particular 24, 25 and 31 December. Confirm the date before you book.
| Day | Hours 2025-26 | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Sunday to Thursday | 6 pm to midnight | 2025-26 reference |
| Friday and Saturday | 6 pm to 1 am | 2025-26 reference |
| 7 December | 6 pm to 1 am | 2025-26 reference |
| 24 December and 5 January | 6 pm to 3 am | 2025-26 reference |
| 31 December | 6 pm to 6 am | 2025-26 reference |
| 2026-27 season | Not published | Expected at the end of November |
Source: navidadmadrid.com, illumination page, esMadrid, cross-checked with eldiario.es (20 November 2025), checked on 18 October 2026.
2. Plaza Mayor market: late November to 31 December 2026

Free entry, official hours and a known window
esMadrid lists the Plaza Mayor Christmas market for late November 2026, running until 31 December. Published hours are 10 am to 9 pm from Sunday to Thursday, and 10 am to 10 pm on Friday, Saturday and the eves of public holidays. Entry is free. The exact opening day has not yet been published: the city council will announce it.
The market has around 100 stalls (casetas), according to the sources consulted. You will find nativity figurines (figuritas), Christmas musical instruments, toys and novelty items. The 2025 edition also hosted an exhibition of handmade nativity scenes inside the market.
The 2025 edition ran from Thursday 27 November to Wednesday 31 December 2025, with the same hours. Several guides give a closing date of 5 January, or an opening as early as 25 November: these dates are not sourced anywhere and do not match the official page. Go by 31 December.
- Opening: late November 2026, day not yet published.
- Closing: 31 December 2026, according to esMadrid.
- Free: no entry fee. Purchases are at your own expense.
The Plaza Mayor market is not the only December event. The Feria de Recoletos and the Madrid craft markets (mercadillos) complete the programme. Read the dates alongside their status: the Feria is announced for 1 to 30 December 2026, while the mercadillos have no confirmed dates for 2026 yet.
| Market | Location | Dates | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plaza Mayor Christmas market | Plaza Mayor | Late November to 31 December 2026 (opening not yet published) | Official, updated 19 June 2026 |
| Feria Mercado de Artesanía de la Comunidad de Madrid | Paseo de Recoletos, between Colón and Cibeles | 1 to 30 December 2026 | Official, 39th edition |
| Mercadillo del Gato | Gran Vía 13, Centro Cultural de los Ejércitos | 12 December to 6 January (2025 edition), free entry 11 am to 9 pm | Official tourism source, 2026 not confirmed |
| La Navideña | Plaza de España | 25 November 2025 to 11 January 2026 (2025 edition) | 2026 to be confirmed |
Source: esMadrid, Plaza Mayor market, esMadrid, Christmas craft markets, Navidad Madrid, 2025 edition, checked on 18 October 2026.
3. Nativity scenes: municipal, royal and museum belenes

Free nativity scenes, but only 2025-26 dates
Madrid also shows its Christmas nativity scenes (belenes, the Spanish name for the Neapolitan crèche). Three major ones stand out: the city council’s belén at CentroCentro, the one at the Royal Palace run by Patrimonio Nacional, and the Community of Madrid’s crèche at the Real Casa de Correos on Puerta del Sol. The municipal museums have their own too, often over longer periods.
The city council’s belén occupies the Patio de Operaciones at CentroCentro, in the former Palacio de Cibeles. According to one secondary source, entry is free at the desk, and booking online costs a €0.50 management fee. The hours given by that same source (10.30 am to 7 pm, closed on Mondays) could not be matched on the official site: check them before you travel.
The Royal Palace belén was open from 5 December 2025 to 5 January 2026, with free access through the Arco de Santiago (calle de Bailén, corner of calle Requena). Sources disagree on the Sunday hours: check the Patrimonio Nacional page before you plan. The reference page for the 2026-27 belén returns a 404 error when consulted.
Museum nativity scenes are more low-key, but easy to add on: the Museo de Historia de Madrid displays a Neapolitan belén with 51 figures, and the Museo de San Isidro has a crèche in the Hebrew style, according to a secondary source. The Descalzas Reales monastery, which also has a belén, was closed on 24, 25 and 31 December, and on 1 and 6 January in 2025-26 (secondary source, Madrid Happy People). Check each venue’s closing days, as those of the other museums are not sourced here.
- City council belén: CentroCentro, Plaza de Cibeles 1, free at the desk.
- Royal Palace belén: free access through the Arco de Santiago, closed on 25 December, 1 January and 6 January according to secondary sources.
- 2026-27 dates: not published as of 18 October 2026 for any of the belenes listed.
| Nativity scene | Location | Dates 2025-26 | Entry |
|---|---|---|---|
| Belén de l’Ayuntamiento | CentroCentro, Plaza de Cibeles 1 | 28 November 2025 to 4 January 2026 | Free at the desk; online booking with a €0.50 fee (secondary source) |
| Royal Palace belén | Arco de Santiago, calle de Bailén | 5 December 2025 to 5 January 2026 | Free |
| Community of Madrid belén | Real Casa de Correos, Puerta del Sol | 28 November 2025 to 6 January 2026 | Free |
| Museum of the History of Madrid | Museo de Historia de Madrid | 1 December 2025 to 1 February 2026 | Free, 51 figures |
| San Isidro Museum | Museo de San Isidro | 2 December 2025 to 18 January 2026 | Free |
Source: esMadrid, Madrid belenes (official, 2025-26 edition), cross-checked with Madrid Happy People (secondary), checked on 18 October 2026.
4. Ice rinks: nothing confirmed for 2026-27
Madrid has several ice rinks in winter, but no 2026-27 dates had been published on the date of checking. What we know covers the previous edition.
In 2025-26, an ice rink was set up in the Galería de Cristal, in CentroCentro at the Palacio de Cibeles. One secondary source gives it as running from 13 December 2025 to 5 January 2026, with pay-by-time rates and specific time slots. None of the official pages consulted confirms these rates: do not use them as a budget basis. The Plaza de España rink (La Navideña, alongside the market) appears on official pages for 2025, with an end in January 2026.
If an ice rink is part of your stay, stay flexible: check the dates on esMadrid or on the CentroCentro website once the programme is published at the end of November, then book a specific slot if booking is offered.
5. Cabalgata, Sorteo and New Year’s Eve: the end-of-year highlights
The festive calendar centres on three events. New Year’s Eve is dated 31 December 2026 by esMadrid. For the Sorteo and the Cabalgata, the page consulted does not state the year: the dates given are to be confirmed.
- The Sorteo Extraordinario de Navidad, at the Teatro Real, on 22 December. The esMadrid page lists free entry from 8 am. The page consulted does not state the year of the edition. For the draw itself, see our guide to the Christmas lottery in Madrid.
- The Cabalgata de Reyes (Three Kings’ parade), on 5 January. The esMadrid page describes a departure at around 6 pm from Plaza de San Juan de la Cruz, and an arrival at around 9 pm at Cibeles. The year is not stated: 5 January 2027 is a usual date, not a confirmed one. One guide gives a 5.30 pm departure: that time is not sourced.
- New Year’s Eve at Puerta del Sol, on 31 December 2026. esMadrid announces the twelve chimes at midnight. The San Silvestre Vallecana, a 10 km race, takes place late in the afternoon on the same day.
The security, traffic and metro arrangements for 31 December 2026 have not been published. The only official precedent consulted is a Community of Madrid press release for New Year’s Eve 2022, published on 29 December 2022: access to Sol metro station closed from 9 pm on 30 and 31 December, normal service until 1.30 am on the 31st, and up to 31% more trains on lines 1, 8 and 10 between 3 pm and 9 pm. This is a precedent, not a commitment for 2026. No traffic arrangement has been published for 2026: plan on the metro or on foot, and check the official guidance as the date approaches.
Beyond these events, esMadrid announces two winter shows for 2026-27: Cortylandia, at the El Corte Inglés department store on Preciados-Callao, from November to 5 January 2027, and the Circo Price at Christmas, from late November to 6 January 2027. Detailed times are not reproduced here.
6. Which programme suits your profile
Christmas in Madrid offers plenty, but each traveller will pick different highlights. Here is how to organise your stay depending on your situation, based on the confirmed items.
- Families. The city council, Royal Palace and museum belenes are free, and the street lights can be seen on foot, without a ticket. Set aside half a day for the belén and the market, then head out in the early evening for the lights, before the little ones get tired.
- Couples. The evening lends itself to a stroll from Gran Vía to Cibeles, followed by a detour to Puerta del Sol.
- Budget travellers. The public programme is free: street lights, the Plaza Mayor market, and the municipal, royal and museum belenes. The ice rink and guided tours are the paid extras. Meals, drinks and gifts are extra, and the prices quoted in guides are not sourced.
- First-time visitors. Start with the Plaza Mayor market in the late afternoon, then walk up Gran Vía and Alcalá once it gets dark. You will get the market crowds and the lit-up displays in the same evening.
- Visually impaired travellers. The free app « Luces Navidad Accesible Madrid » offers four guided routes (Gran Vía, Sol, Goya, Atocha) with more than 30 locations and audio description. It is presented for the 2025-26 edition: whether it returns in 2026-27 is still to be confirmed.
7. Budget: a mostly free public programme
Most of Madrid’s Christmas programme is free. The street lights can be seen without a ticket, the Plaza Mayor market has free entry, and the municipal, royal and museum belenes are free according to the official or secondary sources consulted.
The paid items identified are few, and the 2025-26 prices come from secondary sources. At the Galería de Cristal, the CentroCentro ice rink cost €6.50 per 30 minutes, plus €2 for an andador (skating aid) and €1.60 for gloves (guantes), with no confirmation for 2026-27. The CentroCentro belén is free at the desk, with a €0.50 fee if you book online. Guides also mention an illuminated double-decker bus, Naviluz: its fare, timetable and 2026 route have not been checked, as the operator’s website was not consulted. Ask the operator before you plan. New Year’s Eve dinner menus, turrón and nativity figurines are not priced here, for lack of an official source. For your budget, set aside an amount for meals and purchases, and keep some margin for a paid activity if you choose one.
For a guided tour, the best option is to check the actual prices on the day of your visit, rather than a price shown months in advance. Cancellation and change terms vary between operators: read them before you pay.
What other guides don’t tell you
Five points checked against official sources, missing or wrong in the guides we read. Each one links to its source and to the date it was checked.
- The 2026 switch-on has not been announced. Several guides give 21 November 2026 as the date. It is a projection: the announcement is due at the end of November. esMadrid, Luces de Navidad 2026-2027 page (checked on 18 October 2026).
- The Plaza Mayor market closes on 31 December, not 5 January. Some guides suggest a 5 January closing, with no source. esMadrid, Plaza Mayor market (checked on 18 October 2026).
- An audio-description app exists for the lights. « Luces Navidad Accesible Madrid » is free, with four guided routes. None of the guides consulted in their extracts mentions it. Navidad Madrid, illumination page (checked on 18 October 2026).
- The ceremony and the public switch-on do not start at the same time. In 2025, the public could see the lights from 7 pm, and the ceremony began at 7.30 pm at Plaza de Cibeles. Navidad Madrid, illumination page (checked on 18 October 2026).
- esMadrid dates the Feria de Recoletos from 1 to 30 December 2026. It should not be confused with the Plaza Mayor market, which opens at the end of November and closes on 31 December. esMadrid, Christmas craft markets (checked on 18 October 2026).
Before you go: eSIM and insurance
You choose an eSIM before you leave, depending on the length of your stay and the data volume you need.
Plans based on duration and data volumeCheck what is covered (medical costs, cancellation, luggage) before you choose a policy.
Price depends on duration and coverFrequently asked questions about Christmas in Madrid 2026
When do the Christmas lights come on in Madrid in 2026?
The 2026 switch-on date has not yet been announced by the city council or by esMadrid as of the date checked (18 October 2026). The 2026-27 programme is due at the end of November. In 2025 the switch-on took place on Saturday 22 November from 7 pm, with a ceremony at 7.30 pm at Plaza de Cibeles. Source: esMadrid, Luces de Navidad 2026-2027 page, checked on 18 October 2026.
How long do the Christmas lights stay on?
In 2025-26 the lights were switched off on 6 January 2026, Epiphany. For 2026-27, the end of the season is not confirmed on an official page, although El Diario de Madrid mentions a period running until the Three Kings, in January 2027 (article of 16 October 2026, secondary source). Check the end date in the programme published at the end of November, before you fix your return ticket.
What hours are the Christmas lights on in Madrid?
In 2025-26 the lights were on from 6 pm to midnight from Sunday to Thursday, and from 6 pm to 1 am on Friday and Saturday. On 24 December and 5 January they stayed on until 3 am, and on 31 December until 6 am. Hours for 2026-27 had not been published as of the date checked. Source: navidadmadrid.com, illumination page, checked on 18 October 2026.
Is the Plaza Mayor market free?
Yes, entry to the Plaza Mayor Christmas market is free. It opens from late November to 31 December 2026, from 10 am to 9 pm from Sunday to Thursday, and from 10 am to 10 pm on Friday, Saturday and the eves of public holidays, according to esMadrid (page updated on 19 June 2026). The exact opening day has not yet been published.
Where can I see a free nativity scene in Madrid?
The municipal, royal and Community of Madrid belenes are free. The city council’s belén is at CentroCentro, Plaza de Cibeles 1, with entry at the desk. The Royal Palace belén is reached through the Arco de Santiago. The 2026-27 dates have not been published, and the figures quoted date from the 2025-26 edition. Source: esMadrid, belenes page, checked on 18 October 2026.
Does the Royal Palace belén open at Christmas 2026?
The 2026-27 opening date had not been published at the check on 18 October 2026. In 2025-26 the belén was open from 5 December to 5 January, with free access through the Arco de Santiago. Sunday hours differ between sources: check the Patrimonio Nacional page before you plan your visit.
Is there an ice rink in Madrid over the holidays?
No 2026-27 ice rink is confirmed by an official source as of the date checked. In 2025-26 a rink was set up in the Galería de Cristal at CentroCentro, according to a secondary source. The prices for that edition are not confirmed by the city council, and the Plaza de España rink appears on official pages for 2025. Check the programme at the end of November.
What happens at Puerta del Sol on 31 December?
Puerta del Sol hosts New Year’s Eve on 31 December 2026, with the twelve chimes at midnight, according to esMadrid. The San Silvestre Vallecana, a 10 km race, takes place late in the afternoon on the same day. The security, traffic and metro arrangements have not yet been published: do not rely on a traffic plan from an unsourced guide.
Is there an app for visiting the lights?
Yes, the free app « Luces Navidad Accesible Madrid », available on iOS and Android, offers four guided routes (Gran Vía, Sol, Goya, Atocha), more than 30 locations and audio description. It is presented for the 2025-26 edition by the official navidadmadrid.com listing. Whether it returns in 2026-27 is still to be confirmed.
Sources
- esMadrid, Luces de Navidad Madrid 2026-2027: programme expected at the end of November, season window
- Navidad Madrid, illumination page: 2025-26 switch-on and hours, audio-description app, new features
- esMadrid, Plaza Mayor market: 2026 window, hours and free entry
- Navidad Madrid, Plaza Mayor market 2025: previous edition
- esMadrid, Christmas craft markets: Feria de Recoletos 2026, other markets
- esMadrid, Madrid belenes: municipal, royal and museum belenes, 2025-26 edition
- esMadrid, Christmas in Madrid: Cabalgata de Reyes, Sorteo Extraordinario de Navidad
- esMadrid, Christmas special agenda: San Silvestre, New Year’s Eve, Cortylandia, Circo Price
- Patrimonio Nacional, the belenes: general page, no 2026-27 dates
- El Diario de Madrid, 16 October 2026: switch-on not announced, press report on the 2026-2027 edition (secondary)
- elDiario.es, illumination guide 2025-2026: cross-check of hours (secondary, 20 November 2025)
- Madrid Happy People, city council belén: hours and booking (secondary)
- Community of Madrid, New Year’s Eve 2022 press release (29 December 2022): official precedent for security and metro, not a commitment for 2026
Sources checked on 18 October 2026. The 2026-27 dates for the illuminations, the belenes and the ice rink have not been published by an official source as of this date. The madrid.fr site is not cited: its page is run by a private contractor.

Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner