To attend the Nine Lessons and Carols at King’s College on Thursday 24 December 2026 at 3:00 pm, you need to win the ballot. It closes on Friday 13 November 2026 at 5:00 pm. Tickets are free and named, and there is no morning queue any more. Without a ticket, you can follow the service live on BBC Radio 4.
Checked on against the official sources cited: the service page of King’s College Chapel, Cambridge, and the gov.uk bank holiday calendar.
The Nine Lessons and Carols at King’s College is still one of the most sought-after Christmas services in the world, and getting in has changed. There is no longer a public queue on the morning of 24 December: places are won by an online ballot, and roughly half the tickets go to the public. This article brings together the 2026 dates confirmed by King’s College, what is still unconfirmed, and the ways to follow the service without a ticket. Older guides that still describe a queue are no longer reliable on this point.
1. Get a ticket: the 2026 ballot

King’s College Chapel, Cambridge
The service is run by King’s College, Cambridge, in its Gothic chapel in the city centre, and tickets are allocated by an annual ballot. King’s states there is no longer a public queue on the morning of 24 December: the queue that older guides describe is no longer how you get in. If you read an account of a queue from dawn, it predates this change. Official service page.
The key dates
- Ballot closes: Friday 13 November 2026 at 5:00 pm.
- Winners notified: Friday 20 November 2026, by email.
- Roughly half the tickets go to the public, the rest to college members and their guests.
The card below links to a walking tour of Cambridge (the URL mentions a route past St John’s College). Entry to King’s on that tour is optional: it does not get you into the 3:00 pm service, which is only available through the ballot, and it does not replace a ticket. It may suit anyone who didn’t win and wants to visit Cambridge on 24 December. Availability for 24 December was checked on 25 October 2026; King’s, for its part, does not confirm chapel visit access that day.
The 2026 dates, step by step
The table below gathers the steps confirmed by King’s College and those not yet published. A date missing from an official source is not presented as settled.
| Step | Date | Time | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ballot opens | not yet published | not yet published | King’s College | not found |
| Ballot closes | Friday 13 November 2026 | 5:00 pm | King’s College | confirmed |
| Winners notified | Friday 20 November 2026 | not specified | King’s College | confirmed |
| Advent procession (registration) | before Monday 23 November 2026 | not specified | King’s College | confirmed |
| Advent procession | Sunday 29 November 2026 | 6:00 pm to 7:15 pm (doors 5:15 pm) | King’s College | confirmed |
| Christmas Eve service | Thursday 24 December 2026 | 3:00 pm GMT | King’s College | confirmed |
| BBC Radio 3 repeat | Friday 25 December 2026 | 1:00 pm | King’s College | confirmed |
| Carols from King’s (BBC Two) | not confirmed for 2026 (2025: evening of 24 December) | not published | King’s College, link to the BBC TV guide | 2026 date and time not published |
Source: service page, King’s College Chapel, checked on 25 October 2026.
How the ballot works
The official page describes the principle of the ballot. A travel forum, which is not an official source, adds detailed rules: the names of everyone in the group are asked for, an email or phone number is required, duplicates are excluded, and only winners are contacted. The number of tickets per request is not confirmed for 2026. For the 2024 and 2025 editions, a request covered one or two tickets, with both names required (2024 rule, confirmed by 2025 extracts): this is an earlier rule, to be checked on the 2026 page.
Three points remained open when we checked: the opening date of the 2026 form has not been published, no official page we read confirms the number of tickets, and King’s does not confirm in the pages we read any procedure for reallocating unclaimed tickets (standby): don’t count on it. Re-read King’s page when you register, and don’t rely on any date announced elsewhere. Tickets are named, and the travel forum says photo ID is shown at the entrance (unofficial source).
One detail is often overlooked: decide on travel before you know the result. The ballot closes on 13 November, and winners are only told on 20 November. If you book a train or a night in Cambridge before then, you accept the risk of not getting a ticket.
2. The day of the service, Thursday 24 December 2026
The service starts at 3:00 pm London time and is broadcast live. Visitors who attended say it lasts about an hour and a half. That figure comes from forums, not from King’s College: allow a margin, but don’t count it as certain.
The order of service is stable. Nine Bible readings alternate with Christmas carols. The service opens with « Once in Royal David’s City », sung solo by a young chorister from the choir, and each year a newly commissioned work is premiered. The format is recognisable from one year to the next, even when the music changes.
A typical day, from morning to evening
- The morning. There is no public queue at the chapel. If you have a ticket, re-read the instructions you received with your win before setting off. If you don’t, go straight to the radio plan or the alternatives described further on.
- Before 2:40 pm. Visitors advise being seated before this time. The advice comes from an unofficial forum, but it’s a sensible benchmark so you don’t arrive late.
- 3:00 pm. The service begins with the opening solo. Visitors report there is no leaving during the service, no toilets on site during the ceremony, and large bags are not allowed.
- In the evening. Carols from King’s, a separate programme, aired on BBC Two on the evening of 24 December in 2025. Its 2026 time has not been published: King’s refers to the BBC TV guide.
3. Without a ticket: radio, TV and repeats
The simplest way to follow the service is still the radio. It is broadcast live on 24 December at 3:00 pm GMT on BBC Radio 4 and BBC World Service, then repeated on BBC Radio 3 on 25 December at 1:00 pm. Outside the UK, American Public Media carries it on more than 400 stations, though no official list is published.
Carols from King’s: a different programme
Many pages confuse the 3:00 pm service with Carols from King’s. It is a separate programme, recorded in early December and broadcast on BBC Two. In 2025 it aired on the evening of 24 December, at 3:45 pm, for 73 minutes (TheTVDB). The 2026 date and time have not been published: King’s refers to the BBC TV guide.
King’s website does not appear to offer a free live stream of the service. This is not confirmed in the pages we read, so don’t build it into your plan.
4. Alternatives: cathedrals, concerts and visits
If the ballot doesn’t work out, several options remain around Cambridge and elsewhere in England. Among the on-site services we checked, two don’t involve King’s ballot: Canterbury, free and first come, first seated, and the Corn Exchange, which is paid.

Canterbury Cathedral: ticket-free carol services
Canterbury Cathedral holds ticket-free Carol Services on Wednesday 23 and Thursday 24 December, from 5:30 pm to 7:00 pm, on a first come, first seated basis. The official page does not give the year, but the days match 2026. It also warns that queues are likely, so arrive early. Cathedral Christmas page.
What you need to know
- No named ticket to obtain in advance.
- Two possible evenings, 23 and 24 December.
- A visit to the cathedral itself has to be arranged separately.
The options without a ticket, at a glance
| Option | Date and time | Cost | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Radio: BBC Radio 4 and World Service (King’s service) | 24 December, 3:00 pm GMT | free | confirmed by King’s |
| Radio: BBC Radio 3 (repeat) | 25 December, 1:00 pm | free | confirmed by King’s |
| Carols from King’s (BBC Two) | evening of 24 December in 2025; 2026 not published | not specified | 2026 time not published |
| Canterbury Cathedral, carol services | 23 and 24 December, 5:30 pm to 7:00 pm | free, first come, first seated | confirmed by the cathedral, year not written |
| Truro Cathedral, Nine Lessons | 24 December (2025 edition at 7:00 pm) | not checked for 2026 | 2026 edition not found |
| Corn Exchange, Swing Into Christmas | Monday 21 December, 7:30 pm | £28 to £47, booking fees included | confirmed by the venue |
Source: King’s College, Cambridge, Canterbury Cathedral, Truro Cathedral and Corn Exchange, checked on 25 October 2026.
Truro Cathedral, in Cornwall, is where the format was born, on 24 December 1880. It broadcasts its own Nine Lessons live. The 2025 edition took place on 24 December at 7:00 pm; we did not find the 2026 date at the time of checking.
In Cambridge itself, the Corn Exchange hosts a Christmas swing concert on Monday 21 December 2026 at 7:30 pm, from £28 to £47, booking fees included. It is a paid evening, but it doesn’t depend on any ballot.
King’s also runs an Advent procession on Sunday 29 November 2026, from 6:00 pm to 7:15 pm, with doors open from 5:15 pm. Registration is requested before Monday 23 November 2026. It is not an alternative to the Christmas service, but a way to see the college before the holidays.
For a wider trip that takes in Cambridge, our United Kingdom guide covers other cities and practical tips for the stay.
5. Getting to Cambridge: trains and walking
24 December 2026 falls on a Thursday, and Friday 25 is Christmas Day. Monday 28 December is the substitute day for Boxing Day, which falls on a Saturday (gov.uk). These bank holidays change transport timetables, and the train information available for Christmas Eve concerns 2025. It gives a trend, not a 2026 timetable.
In December 2025, the operator Greater Anglia published a notice announcing reduced services from 7:00 pm on 24 December and train cancellations from 10:00 pm. The Stansted Express was an exception. This is not a 2026 timetable: ask for current times when you book.
A London to Cambridge return fare of around £16 was quoted in an October 2026 article (IanVisits, unofficial). Check the price at the time of booking. From Cambridge station, King’s is about 20 to 30 minutes’ walk away, in the city centre, on King’s Parade.
6. Visiting the chapel outside the service
Outside service times, the chapel can be visited at hours published by King’s College, which may change at short notice. The timings we consulted showed opening around 9:30 am, a last entry around 3:00 pm and closing around 3:45 pm. These figures are undated: don’t take them for granted on 24 December.
For 24 December 2026, we found no reliable information on visiting the chapel that day. The site separates tourist visits from access to the services: a visit does not give you a place at the service. Confirm with King’s if you plan to go in that day.
7. Budget: what the day really costs
The service is free for the person who wins the ballot, but the day has a cost. Here are the items to budget for, with their level of certainty.
- Service ticket: free and named, so not transferable.
- London to Cambridge return: about £16 according to an unofficial source from October 2026, to be reconfirmed.
- Accommodation: not estimated here. If you stay the night of 24 December, this is the biggest cost.
- Corn Exchange concert: £28 to £47 with booking fees included, if you want a paid evening as well.
- Radio or cathedrals: free, for an evening that costs nothing.
To keep costs down, decide early between the two scenarios: a day in Cambridge with a ticket, or an evening at home. Booking travel before the ballot result can be expensive if you don’t get a place.
8. Depending on your situation
First time. You don’t yet know whether you’ll get a ticket. Use the radio as your backup plan, and only book non-refundable travel after 20 November, when winners are notified.
With children. The service lasts about an hour and a half, according to visitors. Access rules for children were not found in the pages we read: ask King’s before you register.
Reduced mobility. According to King’s accessibility guide (undated), the main entrance is step-free, with a ramp but no lift. A south entrance has a permanent ramp, and the exhibition is not wheelchair accessible. There are no public toilets on site; the nearest is in the Grand Arcade. Tell King’s about your needs in advance at [email protected], as the service does not allow early exit.
Tight budget. The radio, free-entry cathedrals and a walk around the centre can make a free evening. Transport is the cost that varies most.
9. Mistakes to avoid
- Following an old guide. Descriptions of a queue on the morning of 24 December no longer match how entry works.
- Mixing up the programmes. The 3:00 pm service is live on radio; Carols from King’s is a recorded programme, broadcast on BBC Two in the evening.
- Using the 15 November date. It belonged to earlier years. The 2026 close is 13 November at 5:00 pm.
- Giving away a ticket. Tickets are free and named; King’s has not published a rule on transferring them.
- Planning a chapel visit without confirmation. On 24 December, visit access is not confirmed by the pages we checked.
What is still to be checked
Some information was not published at the time of checking. We prefer to flag it rather than guess.
- The opening date of the 2026 ballot form.
- The exact number of tickets per person in 2026.
- The 2026 time of Carols from King’s on BBC Two.
- Train timetables for 24 December 2026.
- Reallocation of unclaimed tickets (standby), not confirmed by King’s.
- The URL and date of King’s accessibility guide.
- Chapel access times on 24 December 2026.
What other guides don’t tell you
Three points that the guides we read handle poorly, checked against King’s College’s official pages on 25 October 2026:
- Guides that still describe a morning queue date from 2020 or earlier, or are undated, whereas King’s mentions no public queue (service page, King’s College).
- Janet Redler’s guide, which is undated, gives no 2026 ballot date: it cannot serve as a calendar.
- The 2026 time of Carols from King’s appears on no page we read: King’s refers to the BBC TV guide (Carols from King’s page, King’s College).
Practical info for your trip
A data eSIM for the UK. Handy if you move between London and Cambridge.
Plans depend on duration and dataCover for your trip. Compare plans by length of stay and profile before you leave.
Pricing depends on length and ageFrequently asked questions
How do I get a ticket for the Nine Lessons and Carols at King’s College in 2026?
You enter the online ballot run by King’s College. A travel forum says you need to give the names of the people in your group and an email address or phone number, and that duplicates are excluded. The number of tickets per request is not confirmed for 2026: check the official page. The opening date of the form had not been published at the time of checking.
What is the closing date for the 2026 ballot?
The ballot closes on Friday 13 November 2026 at 5:00 pm. Winners are notified by email on Friday 20 November 2026, with instructions for collecting their free tickets. In previous years the close fell on 15 November: that date does not apply to 2026.
Can you get in without a ticket on 24 December?
No, not through the morning queue: King’s College says there is no longer a public queue. Getting in without a ticket is therefore very unlikely, and King’s has not confirmed a reallocation process for unclaimed tickets (standby) in the pages we read. If you didn’t win, BBC Radio 4 and BBC World Service broadcast the service live at 3:00 pm GMT. Canterbury Cathedral also holds ticket-free carol services on 23 and 24 December.
Is the King’s College service free?
Tickets are free but named, and King’s has not published a rule on transferring them. Attending the service costs nothing if you win the ballot. Travel, accommodation and meals are your own costs. The Corn Exchange concert, on the other hand, is paid, at £28 to £47.
What time does the 24 December 2026 service start?
The service starts at 3:00 pm London time (GMT) on Thursday 24 December 2026. It is broadcast live on BBC Radio 4 and BBC World Service. King’s College does not publish an official length, but visitors say it lasts about an hour and a half. They advise being seated before 2:40 pm, a tip from an unofficial forum.
Can you listen to the service on the radio without a ticket?
Yes. BBC Radio 4 and BBC World Service broadcast it live on 24 December at 3:00 pm GMT. BBC Radio 3 repeats it on 25 December at 1:00 pm. In the United States, American Public Media carries it on more than 400 stations.
What is the difference between the service and Carols from King’s?
The 3:00 pm service is a live service, broadcast on radio. Carols from King’s is a recorded TV programme made in early December and broadcast on BBC Two. In 2025 it aired on the evening of 24 December at 3:45 pm, for 73 minutes; the 2026 time has not been published. Don’t mix the two up in your plans.
What ticket-free alternatives are there for 24 December 2026?
Canterbury Cathedral holds ticket-free carol services on 23 and 24 December, from 5:30 pm to 7:00 pm, first come, first seated. Truro Cathedral broadcasts its Nine Lessons live, but its 2026 edition was not found. The Corn Exchange concert in Cambridge, on 21 December at 7:30 pm, is paid.
Sources
- King’s College, Cambridge, service page: date, time, ballot, radio, share reserved for the public (accessed 25 October 2026)
- King’s College, Carols from King’s: distinction from the 3:00 pm service
- King’s College, Advent procession 2026: dates and registration
- King’s College, history of the service: opening solo and commissioned work
- King’s College, visiting hours (undated page)
- gov.uk, bank holidays: 25 December and Boxing Day 2026
- Canterbury Cathedral, Christmas: ticket-free carol services
- Truro Cathedral, Nine Lessons 2025: 2025 edition
- Corn Exchange, Swing Into Christmas 2026: concert on 21 December
- TheTVDB, Carols from King’s 2025: 2025 format (time and length)
- IanVisits, 2026 ticket alert: London to Cambridge fare (unofficial)
- Rick Steves travel forum, King’s ballot: length and arrival advice (unofficial)
Checks made on 25 October 2026. Unconfirmed information is flagged in the text.

Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner