Yes, from December 2026: Air France flies direct from Paris Charles de Gaulle (Roissy) from 18 December 2026, and French bee from Orly from 19 December 2026. The flight takes about ten hours. Flight days and times come from the press and are to be confirmed with the airlines.
Checked on against the official sources cited in the article: entry rules from government sites, flights from the press and comparison sites.
Outside seasonal routes, reaching Malé from France means a stopover. This winter, two airlines announce a direct flight from Paris: Air France from Paris Charles de Gaulle (Roissy), starting 18 December, and French bee from Orly, starting 19 December. Schedules mostly come from the specialist press: neither the Air France nor the French bee website could be consulted. This article separates what is established, what is announced and what still conflicts between sources.
1. Getting to Malé: what the direct flight changes

Malé, the gateway to the Maldives
Flights land at Velana, the international airport on the island of Hulhulé, next to Malé, the capital. The direct flight avoids a connection in Dubai, Doha, Abu Dhabi or Istanbul.
The arrival time changes the first day. According to the press, AF268 lands in Malé at 10:05 the day after leaving Roissy, and BF770 at 9:25 the day after leaving Orly (AeroRoutes, 5 May and 18 June 2026). In both cases you arrive in the morning. These times are those published by the press in 2026, not a confirmation from the airlines.
What to plan for on arrival
- The visa is issued on arrival, provided you can show funds (see section 4).
- Book the transfer to your island before you leave: seaplane, private speedboat or public ferry.
- An eSIM gives you data as soon as you land, as long as the plan covers the Maldives.
Warning: the arrival time comes from the press, and a change to the flight shifts your slot. Check it before booking the tour below.
2. Air France and French bee: the two direct flights

Air France, from Paris Charles de Gaulle (Roissy)
According to AeroRoutes (published 5 May 2026, consulted 17 October 2026), Air France operates an A350-900 with three cabins between Roissy and Malé, twice a week, from 18 December 2026. Partir.com (20 September 2026) lists only one flight a week in December, then two in January and February: the frequency of the first weeks is not settled. Flight AF268 leaves Roissy at 8:15 pm and lands in Malé at 10:05 am the next day; the return, AF289, leaves Malé at 12:05 pm and reaches Roissy at 6:55 pm. The period is announced until 7 March 2027, after a first window running to 3 January 2027.
The flight day divides the sources. Raajje (13 July 2026) and mvhotels (11 May 2026) cite Tuesday and Saturday; Air Journal (12 July 2026) and Luxatolls (13 October 2026) cite Friday and Sunday. The second version fits a first departure on Friday 18 December 2026, but that is an inference: Air France could not be consulted.
Air France had announced a direct route for 1 November 2017 (OneMileAtATime, 2017) and a seasonal operation for the 2024-2025 holidays (exotismes.fr, May 2024). The press presents winter 2026-2027 as a return, but those earlier cases say nothing about this season’s timetable.

French bee, from Paris Orly
French bee announces an Orly-Malé route from 19 December 2026, until 2 May 2027, with an A350-900 (Air Journal, 20 June 2026; TourMaG, 18 June 2026). AeroRoutes, in its publication of 18 June 2026, gives flight BF770 at 7:30 pm from Orly, arriving in Malé at 9:25 am the next day, and notes a cut to one flight a week from 10 March 2027. The same source says these flights are subject to government authorisation. None of these details has been confirmed by French bee.
The route is part of an Orly-Malé-Colombo triangle. Malé-Colombo cannot be sold on its own, for lack of fifth-freedom rights (Air Journal, 20 June 2026). The flight days are disputed: TourMaG cites Monday, Thursday and Saturday, Air Journal Monday and Saturday. Saturday 19 December 2026 appears in both versions.
For the return Malé-Orly, no timetable has been checked: verify it on frenchbee.com before booking.
| Airline | Paris airport | Announced period | Frequency | Flight days | Outbound time |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air France | Roissy-CDG | 18 Dec 2026 to 7 Mar 2027 | About 2 a week (partir.com: 1 in December) | Conflict: Tuesday and Saturday, or Friday and Sunday | 8:15 pm, arrives 10:05 am next day (AF268) |
| French bee | Orly | 19 Dec 2026 to 2 May 2027 | Up to 2 a week, 1 a week from 10 March 2027 | Conflict: Monday, Thursday and Saturday, or Monday and Saturday | 7:30 pm, arrives 9:25 am next day (BF770) |
| beOnd (via Dubai, not direct) | Roissy-CDG | Mid-December 2026 (15, 16 or 17 depending on sources) | 3 a week | Not specified | Not specified |
Source: AeroRoutes (5 May 2026) and partir.com (20 September 2026) for Air France; AeroRoutes (18 June 2026) and Air Journal (20 June 2026) for French bee; Journal des Palaces (28 April 2026) for beOnd; checked on 17 October 2026. None of this data has been confirmed by the airlines.
3. How much a return Paris-Malé costs in December

Fares to read with their date and conditions
Three types of data circulate: an airline announcement, comparison-site averages and one-off snapshots. The lowest figure we found is French bee’s, from €649 return with a 12 kg cabin bag, according to Air Journal (20 June 2026). The airline has not dated this figure, and it includes neither hold baggage nor meals. Treat it as a starting point, not a budget.
Comparison sites give higher averages: €774 on average according to partir.com (page of 20 September 2026, where the average is undated), and a range of €700 to €960 on average over the year according to Kayak, via Luxatolls (13 October 2026). The same comparison site puts the low in September, around €700, and high season in July-August between €1,000 and €1,050.
For Air France, three snapshots circulate: €933 for late January and early February 2027, €1,066 for September 2026, and €1,237 for December, the last one from a single snapshot. These are instant readings, and they do not tell you the price for your dates.
| Source | Source date | Value | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| French bee (Air Journal) | 20 June 2026 | From €649 | 12 kg cabin bag included; hold baggage and meals extra; not confirmed by the airline |
| partir.com | 20 September 2026 | €774 on average | Average not dated |
| Kayak via Luxatolls | 13 October 2026 | €700 in September, the lowest | Current year |
| Kayak via Luxatolls | 13 October 2026 | €1,000 to €1,050 in July-August | High season |
| Air France, comparison-site snapshots | 2026, exact date not given | €933, €1,066, €1,237 | Late January to early February 2027; September 2026; December (single snapshot) |
Source: Air Journal (20 June 2026); partir.com (20 September 2026); Luxatolls (13 October 2026); comparison-site snapshots checked on 17 October 2026.
4. Entry formalities: visa, funds, declaration and passport

Visa, IMUGA declaration and passport: what is certain and what is not
For a French passport holder, the visa is issued on arrival, free of charge, for 30 days. The diplomatie.gouv.fr page, consulted on 17 October 2026 (updated 15 September 2026), says the authorities ask that you be able to show USD 100, plus USD 50 per day of stay. An extension is possible for up to 90 days, at a fee of MVR 750, according to Maldives.com (secondary source).
The IMUGA traveller declaration must be completed within the 96 hours before arrival, according to the GOV.UK page consulted on 17 October 2026. None of the pages we read on flights mentions it. The yellow fever certificate is only required if you come from a country at risk or transit through one: a direct flight from Paris does not trigger it, according to the Maldives embassies and GOV.UK.
The passport is the point of conflict. The diplomatie.gouv.fr site requires six months’ validity after the end of your stay; GOV.UK says one month after arrival. The two rules are not compatible. We recommend aiming for the stricter one, six months, pending written confirmation from the Maldives diplomatic mission. Check both official pages on the day you buy, as a rule can change.
| Item | Rule | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visa | Free, 30 days on arrival | diplomatie.gouv.fr (updated 15 September 2026) | Official |
| Extension | Up to 90 days, MVR 750 | Maldives.com | Secondary source |
| Funds to show | USD 100, plus USD 50 per day | diplomatie.gouv.fr | Official |
| IMUGA declaration | Within 96 h before arrival | GOV.UK | Official |
| Passport | Six months after the stay (France); one month after arrival (UK) | diplomatie.gouv.fr; GOV.UK | Conflict |
| Yellow fever | Certificate only if from a risk country or in transit | Maldives embassies; GOV.UK | Official |
Source: diplomatie.gouv.fr, entry and stay; GOV.UK, Maldives page; checked on 17 October 2026.
5. Taxes and transfers between Velana and your accommodation

Paying the taxes and the transfer without surprises
The green tax is USD 12 per night in a resort, in force since 1 January 2025 according to a secondary source.
A departure tax is due in Malé. Its amount is to be confirmed when you book, with the airport or the Maldives mission: the sources we read do not agree on the figure. Meanwhile, allow a margin.
A 17% TGST on tourism services sold by foreign intermediaries has been announced. Raajje (September 2026) puts it into effect on 1 October 2026; TourMaG (4 October 2026) postpones it to 1 April 2027. Prices may therefore rise on services bought through foreign agencies, with no firm date.
Alcohol is sold mainly in the authorised resorts and hotels, and duty-free bottles cannot be imported (Maldives.com, secondary source).
Three transfers are available. The public ferry is the cheapest: roughly USD 0.50 to 1 to reach Malé or Hulhulé, according to secondary sources. A private speedboat costs between USD 150 and 400, and a seaplane between USD 400 and 700 return (Frequent Miler, secondary source). These fares have not been checked with operators: ask for a dated quote before booking.
| Item | Amount | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Green tax | USD 12 per night in a resort | Secondary source | Secondary |
| Departure tax | Not settled | diplomatie.gouv.fr | To confirm when booking |
| TGST 17% | 1 October 2026 or 1 April 2027 | Raajje (September 2026); TourMaG (4 October 2026) | Conflict |
| Seaplane transfer | USD 400 to 700 return | Frequent Miler (secondary source) | Secondary |
| Private speedboat transfer | USD 150 to 400 | Secondary source | Secondary |
| Public ferry | About USD 0.50 to 1 | Secondary source | Secondary |
Source: diplomatie.gouv.fr, practical information; Frequent Miler; checked on 17 October 2026. Lines marked « secondary » are not confirmed by an official operator.
6. Season and connections if the direct flight is full

When to go, and which connections if the direct flight is full
High season runs from December to April, during the dry season. The monsoon, from May to November, brings prices down: Kayak, via Luxatolls, puts the low around €700 return in September.
If the direct flight is full or your dates do not work, a stopover remains the rule. Via Abu Dhabi, Luxatolls (13 October 2026) counts about 12h30 of travel; via Dubai, 13 to 14h30. Emirates resumed Dubai-Malé on 1 July 2026, with one flight a day (PSM News, 2026).
beOnd also launches a route from mid-December 2026, three times a week, with an A321 in business class only, via Dubai. The date of the first flight varies between 15, 16 and 17 December depending on the source (Journal des Palaces, 28 April 2026; CAPA). No source we read gives a price. If you want a business-class seat, it is an option to compare, but it is not a direct flight.
7. Choosing by your profile
- Couple, honeymoon. Air France operates an A350-900 with three cabins (AeroRoutes, 5 May 2026); the cabin options on this route have not been checked. beOnd offers a business class, but via Dubai. Compare the total cost of each option before choosing comfort.
- Family with children. Baggage and meals weigh more. On French bee, hold baggage and meals are paid extras, and the transfer to the island can weigh heavily on the budget if you choose a seaplane or a speedboat.
- Tight budget. The lowest fare we found is French bee’s, at €649 return, without hold baggage or meals. The public ferry remains the cheapest transfer, according to secondary sources.
8. Mistakes to avoid and what to do before you leave
- Mixing up the two airlines. Air France departs from Paris Charles de Gaulle from 18 December 2026, French bee from Orly from 19 December. A ticket from Orly cannot be booked as if it were from Roissy.
- Reading beOnd as a direct flight. Its route goes via Dubai.
- Comparing fares without their hold baggage. French bee’s base fare only includes cabin baggage.
- Before you pay: compare the all-in price (hold baggage, meals, transfer) and confirm the day and time on the airline’s website.
- Before you book: check your passport’s validity, aiming for six months after your return.
- Before you leave: book your transfer based on the published timetable.
- Within 96 hours of arrival: complete the IMUGA declaration.
- On arrival: present the proof of funds requested and join your transfer.
What the pages we read don’t say
These points do not appear in the pages we read on flights. Each one links to its source and its consultation date.
- The traveller declaration is completed within the 96 hours before arrival. None of the flight pages we read mentions it. Source: GOV.UK, Maldives page (consulted 17 October 2026).
- The two official sites give different passport validity periods. Six months after the end of the stay on the French side, one month after arrival on the British side. Source: diplomatie.gouv.fr, entry and stay, and GOV.UK (consulted 17 October 2026).
- Turkish Airlines moves up to six weekly flights to Malé, but only from 13 May to 20 October 2026. It adds one flight a week: an option outside the Gulf for the current season, not for winter. Source: Visit Maldives (published 11 April 2026, consulted 17 October 2026).
- Arrivals are falling. Visit Maldives reports 1,067,543 tourists at the end of June 2026, down 5.1% on a year. The 9.8% rise in 2025 and the share of around 30% of travellers passing through a Gulf hub come from the Maldivian press (PSM News, 2026). Source: Visit Maldives (consulted 17 October 2026).
Practical info for preparing the flight
An eSIM gives you data as soon as you land at Velana. Check before buying that the plan covers the Maldives.
Price depends on plan and duration, check the siteCompare the plans before you leave, and check the cover details on the insurer’s site.
Price depends on profile and duration, check the siteFrequently asked questions
Is there a direct flight between Paris and Malé?
Yes, from December 2026, according to the press. Air France flies from Paris Charles de Gaulle from 18 December, about twice a week according to AeroRoutes (partir.com lists only one flight in December). French bee flies from Orly from 19 December, up to twice a week. Neither the days nor the times are confirmed by the airlines (Air Journal, 20 June 2026).
Air France or French bee: which one should you choose?
The choice depends first on the airport: Roissy for Air France, Orly for French bee. French bee’s base fare, from €649 return, includes only a 12 kg cabin bag; hold baggage and meals are paid extras (Air Journal, 20 June 2026). For Air France, the baggage allowance could not be checked on its website.
How much does a Paris-Malé return cost in December?
There is no single fare. French bee is announced from €649 return, hold baggage and meals extra (Air Journal, 20 June 2026). Air France snapshots range from €933 to €1,237 depending on the date, with only one snapshot for December. The €774 average from partir.com is undated. Compare prices for your exact date, all-in.
Do you need a visa for the Maldives?
No, for a French passport holder: the visa is issued free of charge on arrival, for 30 days (diplomatie.gouv.fr, consulted 17 October 2026). The authorities ask that you be able to show USD 100, plus USD 50 per day of stay.
How long is the direct flight?
About ten hours: partir.com gives 9h50 from Roissy and 9h55 from Orly (page of 20 September 2026). With a stopover, Luxatolls (13 October 2026) counts 12h30 via Abu Dhabi and 13 to 14h30 via Dubai. The direct flight saves roughly two and a half to four and a half hours.
What baggage is included on French bee?
According to Air Journal (20 June 2026), the base fare includes one 12 kg cabin bag. Hold baggage and meals are paid extras. French bee’s baggage pages confirm the cabin allowance, but the hold baggage fare to Malé was not checked: confirm it on the website when you buy. For Air France, the rule could not be consulted.
Does your passport need six months of validity?
The two official sites do not say the same thing: six months after the end of the stay according to diplomatie.gouv.fr, one month after arrival according to GOV.UK. We recommend aiming for the stricter rule, six months, and confirming with the Maldives diplomatic mission before you leave. Rules can change: check the official pages on the day you buy.
Do you need to file a declaration before arriving in the Maldives?
Yes. The IMUGA traveller declaration is completed within 96 hours before arrival, according to the GOV.UK page checked on 17 October 2026. None of the flight pages we read mentions it: note it in your planning, four days before your arrival date.
When does high season start in Malé?
From December to April, during the dry season. Travel blogs (unofficial sources) estimate the holiday surcharge at 20 to 100% from 23 December to 2 January. Comparison-site figures are not precisely dated: compare on your exact date before you book.
Sources
- GOV.UK, Maldives page, entry and declaration: entry rules, IMUGA (consulted 17 October 2026)
- diplomatie.gouv.fr, Maldives, entry and stay: visa, funds, passport validity (consulted 17 October 2026)
- diplomatie.gouv.fr, Maldives, practical information: departure tax (consulted 17 October 2026)
- Maldives Mission, visa and passport information: found, partly read
- AeroRoutes, Air France Paris-Malé (5 May 2026): dates, times, frequency, A350-900
- AeroRoutes, French bee Orly-Malé (18 June 2026): BF770 times, government authorisation, frequency cut
- Air Journal, French bee invests in the Indian Ocean (20 June 2026): schedule, A350-900, base fare, Colombo triangle
- partir.com, direct Paris-Malé flight (20 September 2026): Air France frequency, journey times, average fare
- TourMaG, French bee and the Maldives (18 June 2026); TourMaG, TGST (4 October 2026): schedule, flight days, TGST postponement
- One Mile at a Time, Air France to the Maldives (2017): announced direct route for November 2017
- Journal des Palaces, beOnd Paris-Malé (28 April 2026): route via Dubai, A321 business class
- Luxatolls, Paris-Maldives flights (Kayak) (13 October 2026): monthly ranges, journey times with a stopover
- Visit Maldives, one millionth tourist in 2026: arrivals to the end of June 2026 (consulted 17 October 2026)
- Visit Maldives, Turkish Airlines (11 April 2026): 2026 season frequencies
- exotismes.fr, Air France and the Maldives (May 2024): 2024-2025 seasonal operation, history
- Frequent Miler, seaplane transfers: price ranges (secondary source)
- PSM News (2026); Raajje (September 2026): Maldivian press, read as a secondary source
All sources were consulted or checked on 17 October 2026. The Air France and French bee websites could not be opened: flight schedules and fares come from the press and comparison sites.
Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner