Polar bear viewing at Churchill, in Manitoba, usually runs from mid-October to mid-November. In 2025, usable ice only arrived on 26 November, after a very mild autumn, and the ice-free period lasted 172 days. You can reach Churchill by air with Calm Air, about 2 h 30 from Winnipeg, or by train with VIA Rail in close to 45 hours. Departures in October and early November fill up fast: book your flight and accommodation as soon as your dates are set.
Every autumn, polar bears gather on the shore of Hudson Bay, near Churchill in northern Manitoba. They wait there for the ice to form thick enough for them to head back out and hunt seals. Churchill is often called the best place in the world to see these animals in the wild, but it is also a guided trip: a window of a few weeks, specialised vehicles, a permit that has been fought over in court, and prices well above a weekend in Europe. Here is what to know before you book, with what is confirmed and what is still indicative.
1. When to go: a four-week window, not a date
The bears of the Western Hudson Bay subpopulation spend the summer on sea ice that melts, then fast on the shore. When the ice reforms, they set off again to hunt seals. In the meantime they gather around Churchill, and that is when observers can see them.
Tour operators point to a peak from mid-October to mid-November. The Hotels.com guide more often says late October and early November for the gathering on the coast, while an older article describes a wider period, from late October to late November. These gaps matter: treat the season as a likely window, not a guaranteed appointment.

Churchill, the polar bear capital
Churchill calls itself the polar bear capital of the world, a title that Canadian press has picked up in a CP24 report. Bears are there every autumn, but whether you see them depends on the weather, the ice and which vehicles are allowed to drive in the wildlife management area.
Highlights
- A concentration of bears along one stretch of coast, seen from a specialised vehicle.
- A short season, but one that operators track closely, from mid-October to mid-November.
- Easy access from Winnipeg, by plane or by train, with no expedition needed.
2. Ice sets the calendar
The most reliable marker is not a date on the calendar but the ice. Bears wait for the bay to freeze hard enough to bear their weight and hunt. When the ice arrives late, the viewing window shifts toward late November and the gathering on the coast lasts longer.
Autumn 2025 was a textbook case. According to Polar Bears International, ice thick enough to walk on near Churchill formed on 26 November 2025. The ice-free period lasted 172 days, and the Western Hudson Bay did not reach 30% ice cover until 7 December. That is the second longest such period since satellite measurements began in 1979. The organisation links the delay to one of the warmest autumns on record for North America.
For 2026, no forecast freeze-up date had been published when this article was written. The table below sums up the markers to follow before you fix your dates.
| Marker | What it tells you | Where to follow it |
|---|---|---|
| Walkable ice | The date from which bears can hunt from the ice. It was 26 November in 2025. | Polar Bears International, autumn bulletins |
| Ice cover in Western Hudson Bay | The official end of the ice-free period, set at 30% cover. 7 December in 2025. | Ice map of the National Snow and Ice Data Center |
| Announced peak | Mid-October to mid-November window according to operators, with a variable peak. | Each operator’s detailed programme |
| Departure availability | Several October and early-November days were already sold out when this article was written. | Operator booking page, checked on the day |
3. Seeing the bears: the day trip and the packages

The Tundra Buggy day trip, the reference option
The Frontiers North autumn programme is the simplest option to understand: pick-up at 7:45 am at Fifty Eight North in Churchill, a day on the wildlife management area, and a return around 5 pm. A light meal and drinks are served on board. Several 2026 dates were already marked full or limited when this article was researched.
Highlights
- You don’t need to stay at the lodge to see bears: one day is enough for a first encounter.
- A separate child fare, 459 CAD for ages 12 and under in 2025.
- A known capacity of 40 passengers, which makes booking more urgent.
Beyond the day trip, multi-day packages include lodge nights, sometimes a flight and extra excursions such as the helicopter or the dog sled ride. They cost a lot more. The table below compares the packages listed for 2026. Departure statuses sometimes contradict each other on operator pages, so confirm them again before booking.
| Package | Dates listed for 2026 | Price listed | Good to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tundra Buggy day trip (Frontiers North) | 9 Oct to 18 Nov, several dates full or limited | 559 CAD adult, 459 CAD child (autumn 2025 price list, taxes included) | 8 hours, 40 passengers, no night at the lodge |
| Polar Bear Quest and Helicopter Safari (Nature Travel, Nat Hab) | 11 Oct to 25 Nov depending on departures | 11,495 to 11,995 USD per person sharing, domestic flight of 1,689 USD extra | Group limited to 15 people, helicopter, dog sled, parka provided. 1,000 USD deposit according to the official page |
| Tundra Celebration (Polar Bears International) | 28 Oct to 2 Nov | 15,625 CAD per participant, single supplement of 300 CAD in limited numbers | Donor trip, return flight to Winnipeg not included, insurance required. The page shows both « full » and open |
| Photo trip with Michelle Valberg (Frontiers North) | 9 to 14 Nov | 17,559 CAD per person, return flight included | Three nights at the Tundra Buggy Lodge, private vehicle for 10 people maximum, 2,500 CAD deposit |
| Bear Witness photo programme | 24 Oct to 20 Nov (the 16 to 21 Oct departure is full) | 5,000 CAD deposit according to an extract, to be confirmed | Nine places per departure, four-week programme |
4. Getting there: Calm Air flight or VIA Rail train
There is no road to Churchill. You get there by air or by rail, from Winnipeg. The direct flight is operated by Calm Air, whose name appears on timetable sites and on its own baggage page. It takes about 2 h 30 to 2 h 45. Frequencies vary between sources, from three to five flights a week: check the airline’s site before you lock in your dates.
The train is a different experience. The VIA Rail Hudson Bay line covers 1,710 km, with a stop at The Pas. The trip takes about 45 hours, with two trains a week on the full line and three a week between The Pas and Churchill. Destination Canada has nicknamed it the « Polar Bear Express ». The 2026 fare and timetable could not be checked on the official VIA Rail site.
| Criterion | Plane (Calm Air) | Train (VIA Rail) |
|---|---|---|
| Duration | About 2 h 30 to 2 h 45 | 44 h 55 to Churchill, 45 h 15 to Winnipeg |
| Return cost | 500 to 1,000 CAD depending on how early you book (guide estimate, date not specified) | 300 to 500 CAD (guide estimate, 2026 fare not checked) |
| Cabin baggage | Two pieces, 20 lb in total, 25 x 40 x 30 cm | Not checked |
| Watch out for | Cancellations or delays possible due to weather, especially in autumn | Service suspended in 2017 after flooding, resumed on 2 December 2018 |
Entry formalities
Most visitors flying to Canada need an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) before departure, unless they need a visa instead. The eligibility rules are set out on canada.ca, which is the reference. The fee listed there is CAN$7 (checked on 9 October 2026), and the processing time was not checked for this article. Confirm both on the official site before paying any intermediary.
5. Indicative budget for a four-day stay
The budget varies a lot depending on the package. For a simple stay, with flight, hotel, one viewing day and meals, estimates converge on 1,500 to 2,500 CAD per person, excluding Winnipeg. These amounts are guide estimates, not rates checked with the establishments.
| Item | Range (CAD, per person) | Status of the information |
|---|---|---|
| Return flight Winnipeg-Churchill | 500 to 1,000 | Estimate, not checked for 2026 |
| Simple hotel, three nights | 450 to 660 (150 to 220 per night) | Guide estimate |
| Tundra Buggy day trip | 459 to 559 child or adult (2025), or 250 to 400 (estimate) | 2025 price list and guide estimate |
| Meals outside the lodge over four days | 240 to 400 | Guide estimate |
| Stay in Winnipeg before and after the flight | To be calculated | Not documented in the sources |
| Travel insurance | Varies | Required for long packages |
Two costs often come as a surprise. First, groceries: one guide estimates they cost 50 to 100% more than in Winnipeg, since everything arrives by plane or by train. Then meals: eating out, when meals are not included, can reach 60 to 100 CAD a day, against 20 to 30 CAD when they are part of the package. Warm clothing and a parka suited to the wind off the bay also belong in the budget, since the tours happen outdoors, sometimes for several hours.
6. Distance rules, safety and permits
The central rule is simple and set in writing. The permit for the Churchill wildlife management area bans a vehicle from getting within 100 metres of a polar bear or an active den. Nobody may leave the vehicle inside that perimeter. The permit document spells it out, and one travel blog says the rule is strictly enforced. An older recommendation mentioned 20 metres, which is not the permit rule. The 2026-2027 permit could not be read during this research: read it before you travel.
On safety, the guidance on the official Parks Canada and Manitoba government pages recommends staying near the vehicle or a building that serves as shelter, and not locking the doors so you can get back in quickly. The Manitoba government also runs a polar bear alert programme, described in its official leaflet. Check this guidance on the original pages before you leave: not all of it was read in full.
The 2026 legal context
The province sets the number of tundra vehicle permits. It stays at 18 in 2026, held by Great White Bear Tours and Frontiers North Adventures. The timeline, according to a CP24 article published on 6 August 2026, is as follows:
- On 27 February 2025, the province withdrew the Lazy Bear Lodge permit.
- On 9 January 2026, Justice Shawn Greenberg found that the provincial decision rested on an improper purpose and sent the file back to the province for review.
- In March 2026, the province appealed that decision.
- On 3 June 2026, the province decided to keep the number of permits at 18.
- In August 2026, Lazy Bear filed a new challenge with the Manitoba Court of King’s Bench.
For a visitor, nothing changes for now: the operators that hold a permit are running. Just ask your operator which permit covers the vehicle you will use.
7. The debate over tundra vehicles
Tundra vehicle tours do not win everyone over. One blog, The Kid Should See This, describes an « anti-zoo » style of tourism: bears are watched from a vehicle almost all the time, and the regulatory distance does not guarantee that they are not disturbed. It is an argument worth taking seriously.
Operators reply that regulation is strict, that vehicle numbers are controlled and that tours help fund bear conservation and monitoring. Polar Bears International, which works with operators, is a conservation charity: its Tundra Celebration package is also a donor trip, and the tax-deductible share is not stated on the page we checked.
To make up your own mind, ask three questions before you book: which permit covers the vehicle, how many passengers are on board, and what the procedure is if a bear comes close to the distance zone. A reputable operator answers all three without hesitation.
8. A possible four-day itinerary
This itinerary is indicative. Times depend on the Calm Air flight and the weather, and a viewing day can be cancelled or moved. Always keep a margin.
- Day 1, Winnipeg then Churchill. Arrive in Winnipeg with a spare night to absorb a delayed flight. Fly to Churchill, settle in, then spend the afternoon walking around town and finding the few shops that are open.
- Day 2, viewing day. Pick-up at 7:45 am for the Frontiers North programme, drive out onto the wildlife management area, and back in Churchill around 5 pm. This is the day that holds most of the sightings, if the season delivers.
- Day 3, second chance or local discovery. A second outing if your dates allow it. Otherwise, visit Prince of Wales Fort, a historic site near town that Parks Canada looks after. Check opening times and access on the official page, as a trip out may be needed.
- Day 4, return. Fly back to Winnipeg. If you are connecting to an international flight, book it with a day to spare, since a delay the day before can push back your departure.
9. Which option for which traveller
Travelling with family
With children, the Tundra Buggy day trip is still the easiest option to follow, with a separate child fare (459 CAD for ages 12 and under in 2025). Plan at least two nights in Churchill to absorb flight delays, and check the age limit and the vehicle capacity, which can be reached in peak autumn.
Travelling on a small budget
The train is the cheapest option on paper, but it adds about 45 hours of travel each way and leaves little room for a four-day stay. The most realistic combination is the Calm Air flight, a simple hotel, one Tundra Buggy day and meals bought at the supermarket. Compare prices before you choose, since groceries cost a lot more on site.
Travelling as a photographer
Photo programmes give more time in the field and guides who know bear behaviour well. Michelle Valberg’s trip, from 9 to 14 November, includes the return flight and three nights at the Tundra Buggy Lodge. Bear Witness runs four weeks in a row, with nine places per departure. In both cases the deposit is high and dates fill up fast.
Travelling for the first time
For a first visit, a package that bundles flight, accommodation and viewing avoids logistics mistakes: no connection to manage, no doubt about which vehicle is allowed. It costs more, but the risk of losing a day to a delayed flight drops sharply. You can also ask a planner to compare the options for your dates.
Travelling with reduced mobility
None of the sources consulted documents the accessibility of tundra vehicles, lodges or the train. Before booking, ask in writing about the step height of the vehicle, whether the lodge has accessible toilets and how easy the shuttle to the departure point is to use. A written answer is worth more than a verbal promise.
Practical info for planning your trip
An eSIM connects you as soon as you land in Winnipeg, with no physical card to buy on site, and stays useful for the trips before and after the flight.
Plans depend on duration and data volumeLong packages require medical evacuation cover, with 250,000 USD as a minimum at Nature Travel. Compare the evacuation limit before you look at cancellation cover.
Price depends on duration and coverFrequently asked questions
When can you see polar bears in Churchill in 2026?
The usual window runs from mid-October to mid-November, with a peak that often falls between late October and early November for the gathering on the coast. That peak depends mostly on when the ice forms: in 2025, usable ice only arrived on 26 November, after a very mild autumn. No forecast date had been published for 2026 when this article was written, and no operator guarantees bears on a given day.
How do you get from Winnipeg to Churchill?
The fastest option is the direct Calm Air flight, about 2 h 30 to 2 h 45. The VIA Rail train, The Hudson Bay, takes about 45 hours, with two trains a week on the line. The flight is shorter but more sensitive to the weather, while the train is slow but more regular. Check the 2026 timetables directly on the carriers’ websites before you lock in your dates.
How much does a Tundra Buggy day trip cost?
In autumn 2025, Frontiers North charged 559 CAD for an adult and 459 CAD for a child aged 12 and under, taxes included, for an 8-hour day. That is not a 2026 price: the 2026 price list could not be read. A guide estimate puts it at 250 to 400 CAD per day, but that range is not official. Ask the operator for the exact price before you book.
What budget should you plan for a full trip?
A simple option, with flight, three nights in a hotel, one viewing day and meals, comes to roughly 1,500 to 2,500 CAD per person excluding Winnipeg, based on an estimate that was not checked. Long packages cost much more: 11,495 to 11,995 USD excluding the domestic flight for a Nature Travel programme, or 17,559 CAD with the flight included for a photo trip from 9 to 14 November. Evacuation insurance is required for these packages.
How far must you stay from a polar bear?
The permit for the Churchill wildlife management area sets 100 metres as the minimum distance from a polar bear or an active den. Inside that perimeter, nobody may leave the vehicle. An older recommendation mentioned 20 metres, but that is not the permit rule. The 2026-2027 permit could not be read: ask your operator for the version in force.
How many tundra vehicle permits exist in 2026?
The province of Manitoba maintains 18 tundra vehicle permits in 2026, held by Great White Bear Tours and Frontiers North Adventures. The Lazy Bear Lodge permit was withdrawn in February 2025. A court ruling from January 2026 sent the file back to the province, which kept the number at 18 on 3 June 2026. A new challenge was filed in August 2026. Nothing changes for a visitor at this stage.
What carry-on baggage does Calm Air allow?
Calm Air allows two pieces in the cabin, 20 lb in total, with maximum dimensions of 10 x 16 x 12 inches, or 25 x 40 x 30 cm. Warm clothing therefore needs to fit that size or be worn for the journey. Hold baggage fees were not checked: see the airline’s baggage page before you travel.
Is the VIA Rail train reliable?
Service was suspended in May 2017 between Gillam and Churchill after flooding, and restored on 2 December 2018. Since then the line has run again, but it also carries grain freight, and a 2026 article points to congestion on the corridor. The trip takes about 45 hours. It suits travellers who want the experience and have the time, not a four-day stay.
Sources
- Polar Bears International: ice freeze-up and ice-free period in autumn 2025
- Frontiers North: autumn Tundra Buggy day trip programme
- Nature Travel: dates, prices and conditions of the Polar Bear Quest package
- Polar Bears International: Tundra Celebration 2026 trip
- Michelle Valberg: Churchill 2026 photo programme
- CP24: legal challenge over tundra vehicle permits, August 2026
- Manitoba Government: use permit for the Churchill wildlife management area
- Calm Air: cabin baggage rules
- Wikipedia: Winnipeg-Churchill line, journey time, ridership and history
- IRCC: electronic travel authorization application
- Manitoba Government: polar bears and the alert programme
- Canada Spirit: guide to costs in Churchill (estimates)
- National Snow and Ice Data Center: Hudson Bay ice map of 15 November 2025
Sources checked on 9 October 2026. The 2026 prices could not be confirmed on official pages: check them with the operators before booking.

Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner