The Rolex Sydney Hobart 2026 starts on Saturday 26 December 2026 at 1 pm, in Sydney Harbour. The race covers 628 nautical miles to Hobart, in Tasmania. On land, South Head, Watsons Bay and Nielsen Park offer free views, and the restricted zone is closed from 12 pm to 2:20 pm.
Checked on against the official sources cited (Rolex Sydney Hobart, CYCA, New South Wales government).
On 26 December, Sydney Harbour hosts the start of the 81st Rolex Sydney Hobart, run by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia (CYCA). The race starts at 1 pm, then the boats take several days to reach Hobart, in Tasmania. For a visitor, the spectacle lasts a few hours at the start, and the finish unfolds on the quayside in Hobart during the end-of-year week.
1. The 26 December start: the zone closes at noon

The harbour, off Vaucluse
The start is in Sydney Harbour, off Vaucluse, according to the 2026 event page published by the New South Wales (NSW) government. The start is on Saturday 26 December at 1 pm, Sydney time (UTC+11). It is a public holiday in New South Wales and in Tasmania (Boxing Day).
The real constraint is the zone’s timetable rather than the start time: from 11:30 am, a 6-knot speed limit and a wash restriction apply, and from 12 pm to 2:20 pm sails are banned for non-participants. Passive craft (canoes, kayaks, paddleboards, dinghies, rafts and inflatables) must stay clear.
| Time | What is in force | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| 11:30 am | 6-knot limit and wash restriction | A pleasure boat must slow down and avoid the racing yachts’ wash |
| 12:00 pm | Exclusion zone active, sails banned for non-participants | Passive craft (kayaks, paddleboards, rafts) must stay clear |
| 1:00 pm | Race start in the harbour | The yachts set off into the harbour |
| 2:20 pm | End of the exclusion zone and restrictions | Normal rules resume, but traffic stays very dense around South Head and North Head |
Source: New South Wales government, Rolex Sydney to Hobart 2026 event, checked on 23 October 2026.
Highlights
- Start at 1 pm, in Sydney Harbour, off Vaucluse
- Exclusion zone closed from 12 pm to 2:20 pm
- Free views from the harbour headlands
The CYCA’s Sydney Race Village, at Rushcutters Bay, has a big screen before the start. The private visit below goes through this club for lunch.
Overlap with the start: this programme runs from 10:30 am to about 3:30 pm on 26 December. It does not guarantee that you will see the start, and the operator has not confirmed the route for that day.
2. Where to watch the start: free on land, paid on the water
There are three main options: on land, for free; aboard the official vessel; or on a private boat, outside the zone (section 3). The table lists the land viewpoints cited by the sources used for this research.
| Place | Side of the harbour | Access | What’s special |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Head (heritage trail) | East | On foot from Camp Cove | Clear view over the start area, old gun batteries |
| Watsons Bay | East | Ferry from Circular Quay, check timetables | Seaside village |
| Nielsen Park (Vaucluse) | East | Bus or off-street parking, spaces fill up fast | Waterside park, named as a start location on the NSW 2026 page |
| Camp Cove | East | On foot from Watsons Bay | Beach, starting point of the South Head Heritage Trail |
| Lady Bay Beach | East | On foot | Beach |
| Christison Park (Vaucluse) | East | Reachable by car | Vaucluse park |
| North Head | North | Road or walk | View over the harbour entrance, heavy traffic after the start |
Source: Rolex Sydney Hobart, how to follow the start, checked on 23 October 2026. Access times are indicative and have not been checked against timetables.

The official vessel, The Jackson
The Jackson is the only public vessel allowed inside the exclusion zone at the start, according to the race’s official page. Per that page, boarding is at 9:45 am at King Street Wharf No. 1, departure at 10:15 am and return around 3 pm, for an announced trip of four hours. The Humanitix ticketing page, however, lists a window from 9:30 am to 4 pm.
Canapés and snacks are served throughout the trip, with premium drinks (beer, wine, sparkling, soft drinks, juice and non-alcoholic options) and live commentary on the start. A 5-metre LED screen shows the race, and access is limited to the main deck. No full meal is announced. A free Fast Ferry transfer to the CYCA is offered as an option.
From the restricted zone, aboard a public vessel, you see the line without sailing yourself.
3. Private boat and charter: what the listings don’t say
A charter does not get you a place inside the zone. Private boats stay outside and must keep clear of their wash, or they get in the way of the racing yachts. A quote should therefore state where the boat will sail on race day.
A private harbour cruise is offered from AUD 3,500 for about five hours (third-party listing, not verified). Treat this as a reference point, not a quote: ask for a written quote.
Another listing presents a skippered charter as « the only reliable way » to get a front-row spot. Nothing in the published rules reserves a place for charters. A Boxing Day buffet cruise also gives meeting points that don’t match across sources: confirm the boarding point with the operator before you pay.
For private boats, the official page also cites Taylors Bay, Chowder Bay and Obelisk Bay, on the western side, as viewing points from the water.
4. Prices and bookings: what is verified and what is not
The table brings together the prices we could find, with their status at the date checked. Lines marked « not verified » or « contradictory » should not be carried into a budget as they are.
| Item | Price | Time or dates | Status at 23 October 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Jackson, official vessel | $419 incl. GST per person (currency not stated on the page) | Ticketing: 9:30 am to 4 pm. Official page: departure 10:15 am, return around 3 pm | Availability contradictory between sources |
| Private visit with lunch at the CYCA (card in section 1) | €521 per adult, based on 2 adults (€1,042 in total) | Departs 10:30 am, about 5 hours | Available on 26 December, checked on 23 October |
| Sydney Opera House guided tour | AUD 50 online, AUD 55 on the day | No tours on 25 and 31 December 2026 | Verified (official page) |
| MONA ferry from Hobart | From $30 | Peak-season timetable, 3 December 2026 to 29 March 2027 | Verified (official page) |
| Private harbour cruise (third-party listing) | From AUD 3,500 | About 5 hours, 2 to 20 guests | Not verified with the provider |
| Pylon Lookout and BridgeClimb (Harbour Bridge) | Not priced: sources range from AUD 25 to AUD 36 | Not verified | Contradictory sources, no official rate found |
Sources: Humanitix ticketing and official race page (The Jackson), Sydney Opera House, MONA, checked on 23 October 2026. The private visit price was checked on Viator on 23 October 2026, for a booking on 26 December 2026.
For the Harbour Bridge, no official BridgeClimb rate was found: check the Pylon Lookout and the museum on their websites before you go.
5. Arrival in Hobart: a week, not a date

Constitution Dock, Hobart
The race finishes at Constitution Dock, in Hobart, where the city sets up a free race village open to the public. Spectators can watch the boats arrive from the quayside. For 2026, the city has not yet published the village dates. In 2025 it ran from midday on Saturday 27 December to 5 pm on Thursday 1 January, with live music, children’s activities, on-stage Q&A sessions and food. So plan for the end-of-year week, not for one specific day.
The pace of the finish is unpredictable. In 2025, the first boat, Master Lock Comanche, crossed the line on Sunday 28 December, after 2 days, 5 hours and 3 minutes of racing. The last, Millennium Falcon, took nearly six days. Thirty-three boats retired, according to Pulse Tasmania. No finish window has been published for 2026.
On the water, the finish line has its own rules: an exclusion zone of 100 metres on each side and behind the leading yacht, 200 metres ahead for motor boats, and 200 metres in all directions for non-motorised boats, according to an undated source.
For the local festival over the same period, our guide to Taste of Summer in Hobart covers the events, without repeating dates that the sources still disagree on.
6. Calendar and weather: why Christmas week is busy
| Date | What happens | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 17 December 2026 | Last day of Term 4 for New South Wales schools | NSW Department of Education |
| 18 December 2026 | Start of the summer holidays in the East zone, including Sydney | NSW Government |
| 26 December 2026 | Boxing Day, race start at 1 pm | NSW Government, CYCA |
| 27 January 2027 | End of the summer holidays in the East zone | NSW Government |
Sources: NSW government, school holidays, checked on 23 October 2026.
The calendar explains the crowds: Boxing Day week falls in the summer holidays. Parking near Nielsen Park fills up fast on sunny days. Aim to arrive before 11:30 am, when the water restrictions begin. No parking timetable has been found for 26 December.
December weather is hot. According to the 1991-2020 normals of the Bureau of Meteorology, checked via Wikipedia on 23 October 2026, the average daily maximum is around 26 °C and the minimum around 18 °C. On average, 67 to 73 mm of rain falls, on about 7.9 days with at least 1 mm. Showers are brief but frequent: bring strong sun protection, water and a light rain jacket. No reliable forecast exists for 26 December this far ahead.
7. Budget: sourced benchmarks and the costs we could not price
The budget for a day at the start depends mostly on choosing between free viewing and boarding. Here are the sourced benchmarks, with the items we could not price.
- Watching from land: free. The headlands are reachable without a ticket. Transport to Watsons Bay or Vaucluse still needs budgeting, as no fare was found for 26 December.
- Official vessel The Jackson: $419 incl. GST per person. Canapés, drinks and commentary included, for about four hours.
- Private visit with lunch at the CYCA: €521 per adult, for two adults. About five hours, departing 10:30 am.
- Opera House guided tour: AUD 50 online, AUD 55 on the day. An option if you want to visit the building. Its hours on 26 December are not published.
- Private boat: from AUD 3,500 for about five hours (third-party listing, not verified). Ask for a written quote.
- MONA ferry from Hobart: from $30. Off-peak fares were not checked.
- Accommodation, flights and public transport: not priced. No recent, reliable price was found for Watsons Bay, Darling Harbour or Hobart in December 2026.
To keep the budget reasonable, combine the free option with one paid item: a headland in the morning, then the official vessel if the budget allows. Avoid, however, a charter without a precise contract: a listing that promises a front-row spot does not hold up against the zone’s rules.
8. A 26 December day, step by step
The plan follows the official timings, for a spectator on land as much as for a passenger on the official vessel.
- Morning, aboard The Jackson: boarding at 9:45 am at King Street Wharf No. 1, Darling Harbour, departure at 10:15 am and return around 3 pm (official page).
- Morning, on land: aim to arrive before 11:30 am at South Head, Watsons Bay or Nielsen Park. No parking hours were found. The South Head trail starts at Camp Cove.
- 11:30 am: 6-knot limit and wash restriction on the water. Pleasure boats must keep their distance.
- 12 pm: exclusion zone active. Passive craft stay clear.
- 1 pm: start in the harbour, off Vaucluse.
- 2:20 pm: zone and restrictions end. Traffic stays dense near South Head and North Head.
- Late afternoon: back to the city. Check Transport for NSW on the day: no specific plan has been published for 26 December. If you are staying in the area, our guide to the Blue Mountains from Sydney covers private and group day trips.
The Opera House does not close on 26 December, but the hours of its visits for that day are not published. The Jackson occupies the harbour from about 9:45 am to 3 pm.
9. Depending on your profile
- Families. The headlands and beaches, such as Lady Bay Beach or Camp Cove, cost nothing and leave the day open. No age limit was found for the official vessel: ask the organiser before you book. We found no child fare either: check it on the ticketing page.
- Couples. The private visit with lunch at the CYCA combines the city with the organising club, but it takes up the day and overlaps the start (card in section 1). To watch the start from a fixed spot, a headland is enough.
- Tight budget. A headland, a picnic and the South Head trail are enough to experience the start for free. A charter brings no guarantee of a better view, and is offered from AUD 3,500 for about five hours (third-party listing, not verified).
- First time in Australia. Keep 26 December for Sydney. If you have time, the arrival in Hobart completes the race, but it cannot be pinned to a specific day.
- Reduced mobility. We have no source on the accessibility of the official vessel or the South Head paths. Ask the organiser before you book. Christison Park, reachable by car, is an option to check on site.
10. Mistakes to avoid
- Arriving at the water’s edge at noon to board a boat. The zone has been closed since 12 pm, and a kayak or paddleboard cannot enter it.
- Taking an arrival date for granted. No 2026 finish window has been published, and the length of the race depends on the wind.
- Confusing the start with the fireworks. The race starts on 26 December. Our New Year’s Eve guide for Sydney covers the 31st separately.
What other guides don’t tell you
The sourced gaps with the official pages are detailed in sections 1, 2, 4 and 6: this section does not repeat them.
Practical info for planning your trip
Entry requirements for Australia: check them on the official site before you book. We could not verify them at the time of writing.
An eSIM activates before you leave and works in Sydney and Hobart, with no local SIM card to buy on arrival. Choose the plan by length of stay and data allowance.
Price depends on the plan, see the siteInsurance can cover cancellation costs and medical care abroad, depending on the policy. Get a quote online before you leave.
Online quoteFrequently asked questions
When is the Rolex Sydney Hobart 2026?
The start is on Saturday 26 December 2026 at 1 pm, Sydney time (UTC+11). The CYCA’s page and the New South Wales government’s page give the same date. The restricted zone is closed from 12 pm to 2:20 pm. The finish in Hobart has no fixed timetable: it spreads over several days, depending on the weather and the boat, and no 2026 finish window has been published so far.
Where can I watch the start for free?
From land, the eastern headlands are the most practical: South Head, reached on foot from Camp Cove along the South Head Heritage Trail, Watsons Bay, Nielsen Park, Lady Bay Beach and Christison Park in Vaucluse. Aim to arrive before 11:30 am. No parking hours were found, and spaces fill up fast on sunny days.
Can I get close to the start by private boat?
Yes, but outside the exclusion zone, which is closed from 12 pm to 2:20 pm. Private boats must keep clear of their wash so they do not hinder the racing yachts. A charter advertised with a « front-row » spot contradicts the published rules: check it before you pay.
How much does the official vessel The Jackson cost?
The ticket is $419 per person, GST included, for a cruise of about four hours from King Street Wharf No. 1 in Darling Harbour. The official page gives boarding at 9:45 am, departure at 10:15 am and return around 3 pm; the Humanitix ticketing page shows 9:30 am to 4 pm. The page does not state the currency, so confirm it on the ticketing page, where availability is also contradictory between sources.
What’s the weather like in Sydney at Christmas?
On average over 1991-2020, December has about 26 °C during the day and 18 °C at night, with 67 to 73 mm of rain on about 7.9 days (Bureau of Meteorology, checked via Wikipedia on 23 October 2026). Bring strong sunscreen and a light rain jacket. No reliable forecast exists for the 26th this far ahead.
How long does the race take?
In 2025, the first boat, Master Lock Comanche, crossed the line on Sunday 28 December after 2 days, 5 hours, 3 minutes and 36 seconds of racing. The last, Millennium Falcon, took nearly six days. The distance is 628 nautical miles, and the duration depends mainly on the wind. The 2026 figures are not yet published.
Can I watch the finish in Hobart?
Yes. The race village set up at Constitution Dock is free and open to the public, and spectators can watch the boats arrive from the quayside. In 2025 the village ran from the end of December to 1 January. The 2026 dates are not published: check the City of Hobart’s page before you book your accommodation.
Sources
- Rolex Sydney Hobart, 2026 countdown: date and start time.
- Rolex Sydney Hobart, how to follow the start: viewpoints, official vessel, rules for private boats.
- CYCA, 2026 event: organiser, course and date.
- CYCA, The Jackson: official vessel programme.
- Humanitix, The Jackson ticketing: fare and times.
- NSW Government, 2026 event: restricted zone and start location.
- Sydney Opera House, tours: fares and closed days.
- MONA, ferry: fare and peak-season times.
- City of Hobart, race village: finish at Constitution Dock.
- NSW Government, school holidays: summer holiday dates.
- Climate of Sydney, via Wikipedia: 1991-2020 normals from the Bureau of Meteorology.
Sources checked on 23 October 2026.

Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner