Commercial partnership. This article contains affiliate links. If you book through these links, Pixidia earns a small commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Zion offers eight guided tours, from €52.44 to €357.09 per adult (2 travelers), with combined ratings from 4.89 to 4.99. Three depart from inside the park, five from its east side. For The Narrows, the upstream hike from Temple of Sinawava needs no day permit; the full downstream route needs a permit drawn by lottery, requested two days ahead.
Verified on the Viator partner API (prices, ratings, availability).
When I put this selection together, the first thing to know hit me: of the eight tours on this list, only three take place inside Zion National Park. The other five start from East Zion, outside the park boundaries: along Route 89, from Orderville in Utah, or around White Mountain. The title talks about tours « in the park », so before clicking, the reader needs to know exactly what they are buying.
The three tours inside the park are the half-day guided hike in a small group, the private Narrows hike and the guided e-bike tour on the Zion Canyon road. The other five are UTV, jeep, horseback or hiking tours to the slot canyons of the east side. Three of the eight are UTV trips, and three are run by the same operator, East Zion Adventures: a concentration to keep in mind when you compare.
Below you will find the park rules that shape most of the choices: the permit for the Narrows descent, the shuttle, e-bikes and the tunnel’s size limit. Then comes the comparison table, followed by the tour sheets, ordered by combined rating. Prices are per person for two adults, checked on October 22, 2026, for departures between November 5, 2026 and January 4, 2027. Ratings are always the combined Viator and TripAdvisor ratings, never the Viator rating alone.
If you read only one section, read the one on park rules: the Narrows permit depends on the direction you hike, and the published shuttle times stop on October 24.
Why Zion splits in two: the park and its east side
Zion National Park is not visited like a museum. A single road, the Scenic Drive, runs through the main canyon, and during shuttle season private vehicles can no longer use it. Most visitors therefore experience the park at the pace of a shuttle, a walk or a bike, and that is what makes guided tours useful: they handle some of the constraints for you. But not every tour starts from the same place, and that is where the confusion begins.

Of the eight tours in this selection, three start from inside the park: the half-day guided hike, the private Narrows hike and the e-bike ride on the Zion Canyon road. The other five take place on the east side, in East Zion, along Route 89, in Orderville, Utah, or at White Mountain. These areas have their own slot canyons and their own trails. The rules published by the National Park Service cover the park itself; the land status of these areas and the operating conditions of the outfitters working there fall under other authorities, which must be checked. The table is sorted by rating, not by location, so a reader who wants a tour strictly inside Zion should keep rows 1, 3 and 5 (half-day guided hike, private Narrows, e-bike), with rows 2, 4, 6, 7 and 8 starting from the east.
Official sources give three rules that weigh on the choice. The first concerns The Narrows, the most sought-after gorge: the full descent, from Chamberlain’s Ranch to Temple of Sinawava, about 16 miles, requires a permit drawn by lottery, whereas the upstream hike from Temple of Sinawava needs no day permit, according to the NPS page updated on May 14, 2026 and checked on October 22, 2026. The second concerns the shuttle: it runs in season, and its last departure from the visitor center is at 6 p.m. until October 24. The third concerns bicycles: only class 1 e-bikes are allowed, and the Zion-Mount Carmel Tunnel is not open to them.
A fourth point affects the tunnel road. Since June 7, 2026, a size limit applies to large vehicles: 7 feet 10 inches wide (about 2.39 m) and 11 feet 4 inches high (about 3.45 m), according to the NPS large vehicles page. If a transfer from Las Vegas or Kanab goes through the tunnel, the operator must check that its vehicle fits within this limit.
What separates a good choice from a poor one in this area therefore comes down to the departure point and the rule that goes with it. The rest, meaning duration, price and level of effort, is compared in the table.
The 8 tours compared
| Tour | Duration | Price per adult (2 travelers) | Rating (reviews) | Free cancellation | Days available |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Half-day guided hike, small group (in the park) | 4 hours | €125.98 | 4.99 (104) | Yes | 50 of 61 |
| 2. East Zion slot canyon with rappels and UTV (outside the park, Route 89) | 4 hours | €144.10 | 4.98 (893) | Yes | 50 of 61 |
| 3. Private Zion Narrows, guided hike and picnic (in the park) | 7 hours | €357.09 | 4.98 (316) | Yes | 53 of 61 |
| 4. Award-winning UTV slot canyon tour (outside the park, Route 89) | 2 hours | €94.26 | 4.96 (1,739) | Yes | 50 of 61 |
| 5. Guided e-bike tour in the park (in the park) | 3 to 4 hours | €122.35 | 4.96 (364) | Yes | 54 of 61 |
| 6. Crimson Canyon hike and UTV (outside the park, Orderville) | 2 hours | €117.74 | 4.95 (1,214) | Yes | 53 of 61 |
| 7. East Zion jeep ride, east rim (outside the park) | 1 hour | €52.44 | 4.91 (266) | Yes | 53 of 61 |
| 8. Horseback ride at White Mountain, east Zion (outside the park) | 1 hour | €63.73 | 4.89 (321) | Yes | 52 of 61 |
Prices and availability checked on the Viator partner API on October 22, 2026 for the period from November 5, 2026 to January 4, 2027; they may change. Prices are in euros. Ratings are combined Viator and TripAdvisor ratings, with the total number of reviews in brackets.
The 8 guided tours in Zion, ranked by rating

1. Half-Day Guided Hike in Zion, Small Group
This is the shorter of the park’s two hikes (4 hours). The e-bike tour, 3 to 4 hours, also fits into a half day. The format is a small group, with a guide from Cedar & Sage Boutique Trekking, snacks, bottled water and trekking poles. It suits anyone who wants to see the park on foot without committing to a full day, and a first visit, because the setup is simple: a known meeting point, a guide, a fixed duration. The trap to avoid is the meeting point. It is at the pedestrian bridge near the pedestrian entrance, between Zion Brew Pub and Zion Outfitters, not at the visitor center. The park entrance fee is not included in the price: the listing says so up front, so you will need a park pass. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure leaves room if the weather changes.
- Half-day, 4 hours, small group
- Snacks, water and poles included
- Park entrance fee not included

2. East Zion Slot Canyon with Rappels and UTV, 4 Hours
If you want a canyon with rappels, this is the one: the listing mentions 6 to 7 rappels, depending on the operator. It is a half-day that combines a UTV ride and a rappelling descent into an East Zion slot canyon, with the rappelling gear provided by the operator. The meeting point is the storefront on Route 89, next to East Zion Resort, in a parking lot shared with a food truck. This is a departure from outside the park. This kind of activity falls under a framework this article does not settle: ask the operator about its safety conditions and insurance before you book. The listing advises against the activity for back or heart problems, and during pregnancy. Tips are not mentioned as included, so budget for them. Choose this tour if you have no medical contraindication and want to combine the UTV ride and the rappels in a single half-day, with a rating of 4.98, tied with the private Narrows hike.
- UTV ride and rappels in a slot canyon
- Rappelling gear provided by the operator
- Departure outside the park, Route 89

3. Private Zion Narrows Hike: Guided Trek and Picnic
This is the version you book for yourself: a private guide, a single booking for your group, and a seven-hour day in The Narrows, the gorge the Virgin River carved out. Equipment is included: canyoneering boots with neoprene socks, a dry bag, trekking poles, waders from October to May, and a lunch of charcuterie and cheese boards. The route goes upstream along the river. According to the listing, it starts at Temple of Sinawava, and the upstream hike does not require a permit, since the permit only applies to the full descent. The meeting point, however, is the pedestrian footbridge near the pedestrian entrance, between Zion Brew Pub and Zion Outfitters, and the listing does not specify how to get from that point to Temple of Sinawava: ask the operator before you go. It is the only private-group product in the set, and the most expensive: €714.18 for two adults, for seven hours on the ground.
- Private group, single booking
- Boots, dry bag and lunch included
- Free cancellation 24 hours before

4. Award-Winning UTV Slot Canyon Tour, East Zion
This is the most reviewed product in the set, with more than 1,700 combined Viator and TripAdvisor reviews. That volume points to a well-established departure, but it says nothing about group size or the level of effort, which the listing does not detail. Transport is private, water is included, tips are not. The departure is the storefront on Route 89, next to East Zion Resort, in the parking lot shared with Archie’s Food to Die For, as for the 4-hour canyon tour. For two hours and about €94 per person, it is the least expensive slot canyon visit in this selection, without committing to a half-day. The listing describes a UTV visit without saying how much of it is on foot: if you want to go down into the canyon on foot, ask the operator before you pay. It is the right pick for a tight budget that still wants a canyon experience.
- 2 hours, private transport included
- Bottled water included
- Tips not included

5. 3 to 4 Hour Guided E-Bike Tour in Zion National Park
It is the only tour in the park done by bike, and it comes with a specific rule: only class 1 e-bikes are allowed, with assistance that stops at 20 mph (32 km/h). The ride follows the Zion Canyon road, with a helmet and snacks provided. The meeting point is not published: the operator, Outta Here eBikes, shares it after booking, and you should arrive 15 minutes before departure. Before you book, check the age and height requirement shown by the operator, at least 12 years old and 1.80 m (about 5 ft 11 in), to be confirmed at booking. If you arrive from the east through the tunnel, the listing allows 34 to 45 extra minutes of travel. It is the park’s option for a group that wants to cover the Zion Canyon road without walking, and that accepts that the meeting point is confirmed after purchase.
- Class 1 e-bike, helmet and snacks
- In the park, along the Zion Canyon road
- Meeting point shared after booking

6. Crimson Canyon Hike and UTV Adventure, from Orderville
This tour mixes walking and the UTV: part of the route is on foot to Crimson Canyon, the rest in a vehicle. The meeting point is the Sinclair gas station in Orderville, Utah, so the tour starts outside the park, where National Park Service rules do not apply. With more than 1,200 reviews, about a thousand of them on TripAdvisor, it is one of the most reviewed tours in the set, and its combined rating of 4.95 rests on a solid volume. The listing mentions a licensed guide, and that is the only thing it includes: bring your own water and snacks. Tips are not included. The listing does not give the walking distance, which matters if you have mobility constraints: ask before booking. It is a good choice for a group that wants to combine walking and a vehicle in two hours.
- Walking and UTV, two hours
- Licensed guide
- Tips not included

7. East Zion Jeep Tour on the East Rim, to Checkerboard Overlook
This is the least expensive tour in the set, at €52.44 per person for two adults. One hour in a jeep to the Checkerboard Overlook, with snacks and water: it is the format for a first visit to the east side, with no effort and a viewpoint. Departure is from the recreation barn at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort. Read the rating carefully: on Viator alone, it is 4.3 out of 16 reviews. The combined rating of 4.91 aggregates 250 TripAdvisor reviews, with an average of 5.0. Tips are not included. If the overlook is your goal, this tour covers it. If you also want a walk or a horseback ride, the ride in the same area also lasts one hour, and the same operator offers it.
- 1 hour, snacks and water included
- Checkerboard Overlook
- Tips not included

8. Small-Group Horseback Ride in East Zion, White Mountain
This is the only horseback ride in the list, starting from the White Mountain corral in east Zion. One hour in a small group, with the animals and equipment provided, but no food or water: bring your own. The meeting point is on the Red Hollow site, near the pickleball courts, across the road from the horse corral; the listing asks you to arrive 15 minutes before departure. This tour suits anyone who wants a calm activity after a morning of hiking, provided you check the age and skill requirements when booking, since the listing does not specify them. With 321 combined reviews and a rating of 4.89, it is the lowest rated of the eight, but it remains solid, and it is the only horseback departure in the selection.
- 1 hour in a small group, on horseback
- Animals and equipment provided
- Food and water not included
Getting ready for the trip
Two precautions before you leave. The first is a connection from arrival, to confirm a meeting point or a shuttle time without waiting for Wi-Fi. The second is insurance, since most of these activities involve physical effort, rappels or driving a light vehicle.
A connection from the moment you land, to confirm a meeting point or a shuttle time without waiting for hotel Wi-Fi.
Get my eSIMCover for outdoor activities, worth comparing before you pay for a tour. The listings show free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure; check the rest of the terms with the insurer.
Get a quotePractical tips on site
The Narrows permit: direction matters. The full descent, from Chamberlain’s Ranch to Temple of Sinawava, about 16 miles, requires a permit drawn by lottery, with the request made two days before your preferred date. The NPS page checked on October 22, 2026 lists a $6 application fee and $10 per person for a day permit; the overnight permit costs more. These amounts change, so check them on the park’s website before you pay. According to the NPS page of May 14, 2026, the upstream hike from Temple of Sinawava needs no day permit, and the operator’s listing gives this same starting point. Confirm with the operator, which runs the departure.
Angels Landing: a permit, not a tour. The Angels Landing ridge is not sold in any of the eight tours. Access is subject to a daily lottery on Recreation.gov for the fall season, from September 1 to November 30. Applications open the day before at 12:01 a.m. and close at 3 p.m., Mountain Time. Without a permit, do not count on a tour to reach the ridge, and do not book a tour for that purpose.
Shuttle: published times run until October 24. In its February 6, 2026 press release, the NPS says the shuttle resumed on March 7 and that its last departure from the visitor center is at 6 p.m. from September 13 to October 24. The sources consulted give no schedule beyond that date. For a November or December tour, ask the operator for the shuttle schedule when you book, and check it on the park’s website, since a departure from the visitor center or from Temple of Sinawava depends on this transport.
E-bikes: class 1, and only class 1. The park allows class 1 e-bikes, whose assistance stops at 20 mph (32 km/h), on open roads and on the Pa’rus Trail. Other classes are not allowed. The Zion-Mount Carmel Tunnel is not open to bikes. The e-bike tour in this selection notes that arriving from the east through the tunnel adds 34 to 45 minutes of travel: plan that time into your day, and do not confuse it with permission to ride through the tunnel.

Tunnel size limit for transfers. Since June 7, 2026, large vehicles must respect a width of 7 feet 10 inches (about 2.39 m) and a height of 11 feet 4 inches (about 3.45 m) on the Zion-Mount Carmel Highway. A transfer minibus from Las Vegas or Kanab must be checked by the operator before departure.
Entrance fee. The listing for the half-day guided hike says up front that the park entrance fee is not included and that a park pass is required. Check the fee for the other park tours, the e-bike ride and the private Narrows hike. The amount is set by the NPS and changes: check nps.gov before your trip rather than relying on an old figure.
Canyoning and UTV outside the park: check the framework. The East Zion canyons are outside the park boundaries, and NPS rules cover the park itself. The land status of these areas, and the operating conditions of the outfitters working there, fall under authorities other than the NPS, and must be verified. This article does not settle that question: it flags it. Ask the operator about its safety conditions, its insurance and what is included before you pay. The 4-hour canyon listing notes a contraindication for back or heart problems and during pregnancy.
Budget. The least expensive tour is the one-hour jeep ride at €52.44 per person for two adults. The most expensive is the private Narrows hike, at €357.09 per person, or €714.18 for two. The median price of the eight is €120.05 per person. To cut the bill without giving up the park, choose the half-day guided hike (€125.98) over the private version, or the e-bike tour (€122.35). Also budget for tips: they are not included on three of the outside-park listings, the 2-hour UTV visit, the Crimson Canyon hike and the one-hour jeep ride.
Traveler profiles. For a family with children, the one-hour tours, the jeep and the horseback ride are the shortest; the e-bike ride has an age and height requirement (at least 12 years old and 1.80 m, to be confirmed). For a couple who wants a strong memory, the private Narrows hike is the most intense option. For a first visit, the half-day guided hike in the park gives the simplest frame. For reduced mobility, the listing does not state the walking share of the UTV tours or of the Crimson Canyon hike: ask before booking.
Mistakes to avoid. Three recur. The first is believing the Narrows upstream hike includes the full descent: it does not, since the descent needs its own permit. The second is looking for the e-bike meeting point before booking: the operator shares it only after purchase. The third is assuming a tour is inside the park because its name includes Zion: five of the eight start from the east, and each listing gives its meeting point, which is worth reading before you pay.
A typical day. The simplest plan for a day inside the park is the half-day guided hike, then the e-bike ride in the afternoon on the Zion Canyon road. The e-bike meeting point is known only after booking, so before combining the two tours, confirm the departure time with the operator. For a day outside the park, the 4-hour canyon or the 2-hour UTV visit is enough, with a one-hour jeep or horseback ride to add in the same area. The listings do not give travel time between meeting points: allow a margin, and confirm the departure time with each operator the day before.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a permit for The Narrows?
It depends on the direction. To hike The Narrows top-down, from Chamberlain’s Ranch to Temple of Sinawava, about 16 miles, a permit is required, drawn by lottery, with the request made two days before your preferred date. For the upstream hike from Temple of Sinawava, the NPS page checked on October 22, 2026 says no day permit is required. The private version in this selection goes upstream, according to its listing.
Does the shuttle run in November?
The schedules published by the NPS run until October 24: the last departure from the visitor center is at 6 p.m. from September 13 to October 24. For November and December, the sources consulted give no schedule. Ask the operator when you book, and check the park’s website, since a tour that leaves from the visitor center or Temple of Sinawava depends on the shuttle.
Can an e-bike enter the park?
Yes, if it is a class 1 e-bike, whose assistance stops at 20 mph (32 km/h), and you ride on open roads or on the Pa’rus Trail. Other classes are not allowed, and the Zion-Mount Carmel Tunnel is not open to bikes. The 3 to 4 hour guided e-bike tour uses a class 1 bike, with a helmet and snacks; it has an age and height requirement to be confirmed at booking.
Which tour should I choose if I want to stay inside the park?
Three products in the selection stay inside the park: the half-day guided hike at €125.98 per person, the private Narrows hike at €357.09 (7 hours, equipment and lunch included) and the e-bike ride at €122.35. For a first visit, the half-day hike is the simplest choice. It is also the best rated of the three, with a combined rating of 4.99.
Why are five tours on this list not inside the park?
Their meeting points are on the east side of the park: on Route 89 for the 4-hour canyon and the 2-hour UTV visit, in Orderville, Utah for the Crimson Canyon hike, and in East Zion, around White Mountain and the east rim, for the jeep and the horseback ride. These tours are run by local operators. What changes is the rule that applies to the location, not the list of tours.
Do I need to book in advance?
Yes. Their available days do not cover the whole window from November 5, 2026 to January 4, 2027: between 50 and 54 days out of 61, depending on the product. A given day may therefore be sold out. All listings offer free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, which lets you book early without much risk.
How much does a tour in Zion cost?
Between €52.44 and €357.09 per person for two adults, according to Viator prices checked on October 22, 2026. The one-hour jeep ride is the cheapest, and the private Narrows hike the most expensive. The median price is €120.05 per person. The park entrance fee is not included in the half-day guided hike, and tips are not included on three of the outside-park listings.
Sources
- The Narrows Regulations, Zion National Park (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
- Virgin River Narrows Permits (NPS), page updated May 14, 2026, accessed October 22, 2026
- Canyoneering Regulations, Zion National Park (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
- Zion Canyon Shuttle System (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
- Press release: 2026 shuttle schedule (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
- Bicycling, Zion National Park (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
- Large Vehicles, Zion National Park (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
- Large Vehicle Restrictions Going Into Effect In Zion National Park On June 7 (National Parks Traveler), accessed October 22, 2026
- Press release: Angels Landing (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
- Angels Landing: Fall, Recreation.gov, accessed October 22, 2026
- Operating Hours & Seasons (NPS), accessed October 22, 2026
Prices and availability come from the Viator partner API, checked on October 22, 2026. Fees, size limits and shuttle times are those published by the NPS on the date consulted; check them before your trip.
Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner