Harbin’s 2026-2027 ice festival is expected to open around 20 December 2026, based on guide estimates, but no official opening date has been published. The 28th edition, announced on 12 October 2026, covers a record 1.25 million m². Visa-free entry for 30 days, for British passport holders, covers arrivals until 31 December 2026.
Checked on against the official sources cited in this article (announcement relayed by the Chinese press, Chinese Foreign Ministry via Xinhua, FCDO travel advice on gov.uk).
The Harbin International Ice and Snow Festival is often described as the largest event of its kind, and its 28th edition is already taking shape. In northeast China, the sculptures of Ice and Snow World are built every winter from ice cut from the Songhua River. This guide sets out what is official today, what is still an estimate, and what to prepare for the deep cold.
One thing first: the 2026-2027 season has no published opening date or price list yet. Every figure below carries its source and the date we checked it, and estimates are flagged as such.
1. What the 12 October 2026 announcement changes
Harbin Ice and Snow World, the festival’s showpiece
The 28th edition was presented on 12 October 2026 at the launch of the season in Guangzhou, according to the regional news portal bjd.com.cn. The announcement points to a record area and 400,000 m³ of ice and snow, spread across six sections. It gives no opening date and no prices.
What the announcement contains
- An announced area of 1.25 million m², and 400,000 m³ of ice and snow
- Six sections: ice landscapes, attractions and leisure, shows, sports competitions, themed zones and services
- No opening date, no closing date and no prices
For scale: 3.56 million visits in 2024-2025 (Xinhua, 26th edition), and 3.06 million visitors over 65 days in 2025-2026 (the operator’s report, March 2026).
These figures come from the organiser’s communication and the Chinese press. They describe what is planned, not what will open or what it will cost.
2. Opening dates: a window, not a date
Guides give a window: sites open around 20 December 2026 and close in late February 2027. These markers come from ChinaHighlights and Eastbound, which extrapolate from previous seasons. They are not official, and the organiser has not fixed a date yet.
Don’t confuse the opening with the official ceremony. The 5 January ceremony is the usual marker, but it does not mark when the sites open, and it is not confirmed for 2027.
The 2025-2026 season is the reference point. The sites opened on 17 December 2025, then the festival closed early on 21 February 2026 because a thaw melted the structures. The operator’s report, presented in March 2026, counts 3.06 million visitors over 65 days.
| Item | Value | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Announcement of the 28th edition | 12 October 2026, launch in Guangzhou | Confirmed |
| Announced area | 1.25 million m² | Confirmed (announcement) |
| Opening of the sites | Not announced, estimated around 20 December 2026 | Estimated |
| Official ceremony | 5 January, as usual | Not confirmed for 2027 |
| Closing | Late February 2027, depending on the thaw | Estimated |
| Spring Festival (Chinese New Year) | Saturday 6 February 2027, public holiday days not yet published | Date confirmed, holidays not published |
Source: bjd.com.cn, announcement of 12 October 2026; estimates: ChinaHighlights and Eastbound, checked on 18 October 2026.
Which date should you aim for? If you travel in January 2027, you are outside the known visa-free window: the first half of January remains the most stable period, provided you have a visa or an official decision. According to ChinaVigators, the sculptures are finished and the cold is steady, while guides flag a higher risk of thaw in February. The Spring Festival falls on Saturday 6 February 2027, but the days off around it have not been published yet.
The first signal to watch is an opening date from the organiser. Until one is announced, no source gives a recommended margin, so choose bookings you can cancel until the organiser confirms the opening date.
3. Tickets: no 2026-2027 price published
The 2026-2027 price has not been published. The only sourced reference is the 2025-2026 season: 328 yuan for an adult after promotion, and 300 yuan from 17 to 23 December 2025, according to Xinhua via Eastbound. Other sites give 328 to 330 yuan. Higher and lower figures circulate without a source, and a 228-yuan fare, taken from a Chinese-language pricing notice, has not been cross-checked: don’t use it without checking directly.
| Source | Price quoted | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Xinhua, via Eastbound | 328 yuan, adult after promotion; 300 yuan from 17 to 23 December 2025 | Past, confirmed by the press |
| ChinaHighlights | 328 to 330 yuan, adult | Past, indicative |
| Tourisme-chine.com | 988 to 990 yuan for the fast-track pass | Indicative, undated |
Source: Eastbound, ChinaHighlights, Tourisme-chine.com, checked on 18 October 2026.
Three practical points matter more than the price on the sign:
- According to ChinaHighlights (an unofficial guide), online booking is limited to holders of a Chinese ID card. A foreign passport buys on site or through an agency (ChinaHighlights, checked on 18 October 2026).
- The big slide is booked, according to Vol369 (not cross-checked), through an app or a WeChat QR code: without a Chinese phone number, plan a backup on site.
- One ticket doesn’t cover every site. The Sun Island ticket is dated and valid for the site printed on it only, according to a Chinese guide checked on 18 October 2026. For Zhaolin Park, sources disagree on whether entry is free or paid: check at the gate.
Agencies also sell packages that bundle transfer and ticket. One intermediary site quotes about US$148 per adult for this type of offer, but the price is not official and should not be used as a reference. Compare before you book, and check what is included.
4. Opening hours and getting around the sites
| Site | Hours | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Ice and Snow World | 11am to 10pm, every day | Stated (ChinaHighlights) |
| Ice and Snow World, illuminations | From about 4:15 to 4:30pm in January | Estimated (Eastbound) |
| Sun Island | 8am to 4pm according to ChinaHighlights, about 5pm according to Tourisme-chine.com | Contradictory |
| Zhaolin Park | About 9am to 9pm | Indicative (ChinaHighlights) |
Source: ChinaHighlights, Eastbound, Tourisme-chine.com, checked on 18 October 2026.
Ice and Snow World opens from 11am to 10pm according to ChinaHighlights. The sculptures light up from about 4:15 to 4:30pm in January, according to Eastbound, which presents it as an estimate for the 2025-2026 season. ChinaHighlights suggests arriving around 3pm: you get the daylight first, then the lights at sunset.
Allow 3 to 4 hours in Ice and Snow World and 2 to 3 hours at Sun Island. Past four hours outside, the risk of frostbite rises, according to guides: plan regular breaks in the heated cafés on site, which a 2026 guide says are available.
Queues form at the most popular attractions: the slide, the big wheel and the shows. No queue data for 2026 has been published. In December 2023, the Chinese press reported complaints about waiting in the cold, followed by refunds and the end of the timed-slot system (January 2024). Avoid the Chinese New Year week (Saturday 6 February 2027, with holidays estimated between 5 and 13 February), when crowds peak. For the rest of the season, buy ahead through an agency: official online booking is limited to holders of a Chinese ID.
5. Getting there: high-speed train from Beijing, flights and transfers
| Route | Duration | Price | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beijing to Harbin, high-speed train | 4h 33m to 5h 20m on the fastest trains | Not stated | Service launched (2021), journey time estimated |
| Harbin-Taiping airport (HRB) to the city centre | 30 to 60 minutes | 40 to 100 yuan by taxi | Estimated (Eastbound) |
| City centre to Ice and Snow World | 20 to 30 minutes by car | Not stated | Estimated (ChinaHighlights) |
Source: ChinaHighlights, Eastbound, checked on 18 October 2026. Train times: check the official timetable before you book.
High-speed rail is the simplest way from Beijing. The line has run since January 2021, and the fastest trains take between 4h 33m and 5h 20m, according to guides. Timetables and fares change with the season, so check the official timetable before you book.
We found no nonstop flight from London to Harbin-Taiping (HRB) for winter 2026-2027. Flight aggregators show connections, usually through Beijing or Shanghai, and an airport network page updated on 17 July 2026 lists four international routes, with South Korea as the main market. We have not checked the connecting itineraries or the winter schedules: compare them when you book, and confirm the airline’s route before you pay.
On the ground, hailing a taxi in the street is hard in the deep cold. Ride-hailing apps such as DiDi are more reliable. Keep the address of your hotel and of the site written in Chinese on your phone, since few drivers speak English.
For where to stay, Songbei and Songhua are the districts closest to the sites. ChinaHighlights advises against public transport, since buses and taxis often stop two or three kilometres from the entrance. Eastbound mentions an « Ice and Snow World » station on Line 2 of the metro, but it has not been confirmed on an official map: don’t count on it without checking. In the evening, after 9pm, the metro and taxis get very busy. Plan your return before then.
6. Visas and entry: the point to check first
For British passport holders, visa-free entry for stays of up to 30 days is valid for business, tourism, family or friend visits, and transit, for entries until 31 December 2026. A Chinese government notice, published on the Shanghai government website, sets the policy from 17 February 2026 for UK and Canadian passport holders. The FCDO travel advice for China on gov.uk confirms the same end date: it is the page to re-read before you buy a ticket (gov.uk, entry requirements).
Paid work, long-term assignments, journalism and study are excluded and need a visa. A stay longer than 30 days needs a visa too, and extensions are not available. A January or February 2027 trip therefore falls after the known deadline. For the detail of the rules, read our French-language guide on China’s visa-free rules: until 31 December 2026, and after?. No extension had been found when this was written, on 18 October 2026. Don’t assume an exemption in 2027: check with the Chinese embassy or consulate before you buy a ticket, then re-read the FCDO page just before you leave.
Arrival card: a notice on the Chinese embassy website (US version of the site, checked on 18 October 2026), dated 3 December 2025, says the form can be filled in before arrival. Whether it is mandatory has not been settled, so follow the embassy’s wording at the time you travel. Several guides present it as compulsory. The FCDO page adds two points: immigration may collect biometric data at entry, and you must register your place of residence with the local Public Security Bureau within 24 hours of arrival. Hotel guests are registered when they check in. Keep a copy of your passport and return ticket on your phone.
Check the passport validity rules on the FCDO page before you travel.
7. Preparing for the deep cold
No official forecast exists for the 2027 season, and the data available are ranges. Guides describe about -15°C by day and -30°C at night in January, with wind chill making it feel colder still. The monthly record of -42.6°C, cited by Wikipedia from CMA data, is a historic record, not a typical temperature.
| Source | Value quoted | Type |
|---|---|---|
| ChinaHighlights | -25 to -10°C in winter, wind chill included | Climate |
| ChinaVigators | -20 to -10°C on average in January, nights down to -30°C | Climate |
| Tourisme-chine.com | About -15°C by day, -30°C at night | Indicative |
| Wikipedia (CMA data) | Monthly record of -42.6°C | Historical |
Source: ChinaHighlights, Tourisme-chine.com, Wikipedia (EN), Harbin, checked on 18 October 2026.
What to wear
- Layers: thermal base layers in synthetic fabric (avoid cotton against the skin), a wool or fleece mid-layer, then a long down jacket and a windproof shell.
- Head and face: a hat that covers your ears, a balaclava or face mask, and goggles against the glare of the snow.
- Hands: warm gloves for outdoor time, and touchscreen gloves so you can use your phone without exposing your hands.
- Feet: insulated boots with grippy soles. Smooth soles are a bad idea on ice.
- Hand warmers: take several, and put some on your power bank and your camera too.
Phone, battery and camera
The cold drains batteries fast. A 2016 account published by the Jakarta Post describes a phone freezing after fifteen minutes outside. Keep a power bank against your body, in an inside pocket, and take spare camera batteries to keep warm. Apple’s support page on using devices in cold weather, checked on 18 October 2026, recommends staying within the operating temperature range it lists: reread it before you travel.
Health
The warning signs are numbness and white or hard-looking skin. If you notice them, get into a heated building straight away (Global Rescue and guides, checked on 18 October 2026). Drink regularly, even without thirst, and avoid moving suddenly from a heated space into the cold outside. For children and older travellers, no reliable source gives a safe exposure time: ask your GP, then check the health section of the FCDO China travel advice.
8. Budget: the costs to plan for
Without a 2026-2027 price list, the budget is built item by item from the latest known references. Each figure below links back to its season where it is known.
- Ice and Snow World ticket: 328 yuan for an adult in 2025-2026, according to Xinhua via Eastbound. The 2026-2027 price is unknown.
- Sun Island and Zhaolin Park: sources disagree on prices. Allow a margin, and check at the gate.
- Beijing-Harbin train: no 2026-2027 fare has been published. Check the official timetable for the day’s price.
- Taxi from the airport: 40 to 100 yuan for a 30 to 60 minute trip (Eastbound estimate, season not stated).
- Cold-weather kit: a long down jacket, insulated boots and hand warmers, if you don’t already own them.
- Insurance: check that it covers medical costs in China, cold weather and outdoor activities.
Buy tickets ahead in peak season: guides recommend it to avoid the queue at the entrance. Avoid packages that charge for a transfer with the ticket without listing what is included, and compare the taxi fare with a ride-hailing app before you go.
9. A plan for one day, or two
With one day, focus on Ice and Snow World and arrive around 3pm to catch the daylight, then the lights. Keep a return slot before 9pm. With two days, add Sun Island on the morning of the first day for the daytime snow sculptures, and keep the second day for Ice and Snow World.
- Morning, day one: Sun Island, which opens at 8am according to ChinaHighlights. Allow two to three hours, and start early: the closing time falls between 4pm and 5pm depending on the source.
- Midday: lunch in a heated restaurant, then a 30-minute break somewhere warm for your fingers and toes.
- Day two, from 3pm: Ice and Snow World, with the daytime sculptures and then the lights at sunset, around 4:15 to 4:30pm in January (estimate based on the 2025-2026 season, Eastbound).
- Evening: back at the hotel before 9pm, when the taxis and the metro are packed.
Guides allow 3 to 4 hours in Ice and Snow World and 2 to 3 hours at Sun Island (see section 4). Past four hours outside, they say, the risk of frostbite rises. If your trip is built around ice-themed nights, compare it with the IceHotel 2026-2027 in Swedish Lapland, a very different winter stay.
10. Depending on your trip
- First trip: if you travel in January 2027, aim for the first half of the month, provided you have a visa or an official decision. Keep a spare day in the plan in case the dates move. A first visit is mainly about grasping the scale of the sculptures.
- Family: slides and snow parks are a hit with children. Zhaolin Park is presented as calmer than the other sites (Trip.com). Keep outings short, schedule plenty of warm breaks, and check with your doctor before you go. For another family winter option in the north, our guide to Finnish Lapland and Rovaniemi covers a different trip.
- Tight budget: the entrance ticket is the main on-site cost. Buy it ahead, skip vague packages, and compare the Zhaolin prices before you pay.
- Couples: the sunset illuminations suit an evening out, with dinner in a heated restaurant between visits.
- Reduced mobility: no reliable source has been found on access to snowy sites or on icy pavements. Ask the operator or your agent for details before you go.
11. Mistakes to avoid
- Booking on the strength of a 2027 date with no official source. Agency sites publish calendars that rest on no announcement.
- Travelling in January 2027 without checking the visa rules. The known deadline is 31 December 2026.
- Assuming an eSIM gives you access to every service. Google, YouTube and WhatsApp stay blocked without a VPN, according to the Chinese tourism portal travelchina.org.cn.
- Relying on taxis in the street. In deep cold, use a ride-hailing app and keep the address in Chinese.
- Underestimating the cold and the batteries. A phone that goes flat within minutes outside leaves you without the route, the ticket and the photos.
What other guides don’t tell you
Online guides repeat each other on estimated dates, and often skip the points below, drawn from the sources cited, some of them from search-result extracts.
- The 2026-2027 area is announced at 1.25 million m², with 400,000 m³ of ice and snow. The 12 October 2026 announcement is official. Some guides still quote last season’s area, 1.2 million m² in 2025-2026 according to vol369.com, checked on 18 October 2026.
- The visa-free window for British passport holders closes on 31 December 2026. It took effect on 17 February 2026, and no extension was known on 18 October 2026. Many guides skip the visa question (Shanghai government website, checked on 18 October 2026).
- The 2025-2026 season closed early, on 21 February 2026, because of a thaw. Guides mention the early closure, but few explain what it means for a ticket or for your return (Chinanews, 21 February 2026, checked on 18 October 2026).
- The arrival card: an embassy notice dated 3 December 2025 says the form can be filled in before arrival. Whether it is mandatory is not settled, even though several guides present it as compulsory: follow the embassy’s wording when you leave (embassy notice of 3 December 2025, checked on 18 October 2026).
- According to ChinaHighlights (an unofficial guide), online booking is limited to holders of a Chinese ID card. A foreign passport buys on site or through an agency (ChinaHighlights, checked on 18 October 2026).
Practical info for planning your trip
An eSIM saves you looking for a SIM card when you land. It does not unlock the blocked services: you still need a VPN for Google, YouTube and WhatsApp.
Plans by duration: see the shopCheck that the policy covers medical costs in China, cold-weather activities and time spent outdoors. Exclusions vary by plan.
Price depends on the plan and the length of coverFrequently asked questions
When does the Harbin ice festival open in 2026-2027?
No official opening date had been published as of 18 October 2026. The 28th edition is announced for this winter, and guides estimate that the sites will open around 20 December 2026 and close in late February 2027. The 5 January ceremony is a usual marker, not the opening date. Source: announcement of 12 October 2026.
How much do tickets cost?
The 2026-2027 price has not been published. For the 2025-2026 season, Xinhua, via Eastbound, gives 328 yuan for an adult after promotion, with 300 yuan from 17 to 23 December 2025. Other sources give similar or conflicting figures. According to ChinaHighlights (an unofficial guide), online booking is limited to holders of a Chinese ID card, so foreign visitors usually buy on site or through an agency.
Do British travellers need a visa for Harbin?
No visa is needed for stays of up to 30 days for tourism, business, family visits or transit, for entries until 31 December 2026, under the Chinese government notice that covers UK passport holders from 17 February 2026. No extension had been found as of 18 October 2026. For a stay in January or February 2027, check with the Chinese embassy or consulate before you buy a ticket, then re-read the FCDO China travel advice.
What temperature is it in Harbin in January?
Guides give about -15°C by day and -30°C at night in January, with wind chill. Two minimums recorded on 10 and 17 January 2026 on an unofficial weather site were -24.1°C and -28.6°C, but no official forecast exists for 2027. Dress in three layers: thermal synthetic base layers, a fleece, then a long down jacket and a windproof shell, with a hat, warm gloves and insulated boots.
Does a phone keep working in the cold?
No, the battery drains fast. Keep a power bank against your body, in an inside pocket, and use hand warmers for your phone and camera. A 2016 account describes a phone freezing after fifteen minutes outside. The manufacturer’s cold-weather support page gives the operating ranges to respect.
Can you pay with a foreign card and stay connected in Harbin?
Blogs from 2026 say Alipay and WeChat Pay accept foreign Visa and Mastercard cards, with limits and fees that vary by source. No official source has confirmed this, so carry some cash as a backup. For connectivity, Google, YouTube and WhatsApp remain blocked without a VPN, according to travelchina.org.cn.
Can the festival close earlier than planned?
Yes. The 2025-2026 season closed early on 21 February 2026 because a thaw melted the structures (Chinanews). A visit at the end of the season therefore carries a real risk. According to the Chinese press citing Xinhua (m.gmw.cn, 22 February 2026), the park announced refunds and free access to the following season for ticket holders. This has not been cross-checked, so ask the operator before you buy. Plan a backup for your return, and check the organiser’s announcements before you leave.
Sources
- bjd.com.cn: announcement of the 28th edition, 12 October 2026
- Dongbei News: article on the 28th edition, 13 October 2026
- Shanghai government website: Chinese notice on visa-free entry for Canadian and UK passport holders, from 17 February 2026
- FCDO travel advice, China (gov.uk): entry requirements, consulted 18 October 2026
- FCDO travel advice, China (gov.uk): health and safety overview, consulted 18 October 2026
- Chinese embassy notice on the arrival card: 3 December 2025, published on the embassy website (US version of the site, consulted 18 October 2026)
- Chinanews: early closure of the 2025-2026 season, 21 February 2026
- ChinaHighlights: festival guide, hours and access
- Eastbound: 2025-2026 season references and 2026-2027 estimates
- Tourisme-chine.com: temperatures, combined tickets and tips
- travelchina.org.cn: access to online services in China
- ChinaVigators: festival guide, climate and clothing tips (search-result extract)
- Vol369: Ice and Snow World 2026 guide, 2025-2026 area, access and tips (not cross-checked)
- Trip.com: selection of family-friendly attractions, public reviews (search-result extract)
- m.gmw.cn: Chinese press citing Xinhua, refunds after the early closure, 22 February 2026 (search-result extract)
- Wikipedia (EN), Harbin: climate data from the CMA
Research carried out on 18 October 2026. Links were checked on that date.
Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner